Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives
Reload this Page >

Is a KV950 brushless more powerful than 480 brush

Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Is a KV950 brushless more powerful than 480 brush

Old 02-07-2007, 01:25 AM
lt1956

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is a KV950 brushless more powerful than 480 brush

Hello,

I am new at alot of this and was wondering what the performance difference would be between a KV950 Outrunner Brushless against a hopup 480 Brush can Motor? Which one would give more power?

Sorry for the simple question but it will Help alot if someone can help me on this.

Thanks
Old 02-07-2007, 07:20 AM
B.L.E.

Default RE: Is a KV950 brushless more powerful than 480 brush

The kV rating of a motor is not a measure of how much power it can make but simply a measure of what RPM the motor delivers its power at. When 1 volt is applied to a 950 kV motor, the shaft will spin approximately 950 rpm when the amps are zero. Spin the motor faster than that and the motor becomes a brake and the amps go negative, recharging the battery. Kv x volts = approximately the no load (shaft run without a prop) rpm of the motor.

The power a motor can make is found by looking at the maximum amps the motor can safely be loaded to. Usually you will see a continuous rating and a somewhat higher burst rating.
Old 02-07-2007, 10:26 AM
lt1956

I heard outrunner motors have more kick that regular Brushless. I was just curious on average if the brushless I mentioned would be better than a can 480 brush motor
Old 02-07-2007, 02:57 PM
BeFlyin

The power a motor can make is found by looking at the maximum amps the motor can safely be loaded to. Usually you will see a continuous rating and a somewhat higher burst rating.