Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Motor/Prop/Voltage/RPMs/Thrust/HUH?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2007, 04:08 PM
DropDz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor/Prop/Voltage/RPMs/Thrust/HUH?

Hey all, first post. I am just getting into RC flight as of the last two weeks or so. A friend of mine has been very helpful, but I'm lacking some info.

I've been looking around and can't seem to find study material on the relationship between the motor/propeller/voltage/thrust.

For example:

How many RPMs will a given motor spin with a given voltage?
How many amps does it pull with a given prop?
How much thrust does it offer with everything combined?
When are you overloading your ESC?
When are you overloading your Motor?
When are you overloading your face? [:@]

ANY info would be GREATLY appreciated. In return... uhh... I'd reccomend you buy a steak and McCormik's Montreal Steak seasoning, and Lea and Perrins worschestehershershire and cook a big ole fat meal.... with mac & cheese.... with broccolli in it.

Thanks a bunch all mighty people with.... neurons. Man, do I stutter.
Old 03-13-2007, 06:31 PM
packyj

Default RE: Motor/Prop/Voltage/RPMs/Thrust/HUH?

With a brushless motor you can see how many rpm's the motor will spin with a given voltage by looking at the rated Kilovolt rating... or Kv. If a motor says it has a 1000 kv rating it will produce 1000 rpm's for every volt of power it receives. By looking at the battery you will be powering this motor with you can then calculate roughly the rpm's the motor will turn.

The amps the motor pulls will vary with each different size prop you use.