Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Brushless motor chart

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2008, 11:12 AM
vtach688
My Feedback: (8)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brushless motor chart

I am new to electrics but have been flying nitro since 1982. My question is this: how do you size up a motor? I see specs such as 2212/12 or park 480 and so on. What does this mean, more importantly for me, how do i cross ref. this information. Is there somewhere that lists the differences? Thanks in advance.. V.
Old 11-21-2008, 03:23 PM
rmenke
My Feedback: (13)

Default RE: Brushless motor chart

Vatach:

Unfortunately, there is no real consistant point of measurement or compairson between the motor manufacturers IMHO. One close area is the "Watt's" the motor is supposed to produce, watts being a measurement of work. Again, unfortnately many/most figures given by the factory can not be obtained in the field. Leaders in the field like Hacker, and AXI do produce power close to specs given. I recently purchased a 700 watt motor for a 25 size glow airplane, 3D type. It does provide good power and unlimited vertical and around 10 minutes of flight time. Actual watts measured by a watt meeter is 375-400, a little shy of claims. Some manufacturers give a glow equivelent of power to help sizing, some will give you "thrust" which for me is the best way to measure power. If I want to size a 3lb airframe for 3D, I would be looking for a motor with 6 pounds of thrust or 2 to 1 power ratio. Nice thing about thrust measurements is that you can verrify the motors output at home with a simple fish scale.