Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives
Reload this Page >

Aeolianmotor 2825- KV5200 Brushless Motor Question

Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Aeolianmotor 2825- KV5200 Brushless Motor Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2009, 07:42 PM
kody11

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aeolianmotor 2825- KV5200 Brushless Motor Question

Hi, quick question. I am new to electrics and I bought one of these motors on ebay. It came with a 30amp ESC. I have tried several different props on this motor (10 x 4.7, 9x6, 5.5 x 4.5) all of them cause the motor and ESC to get extremely hot. I can run it at length without any prop and it stays cool. I am using a 11.1v 1500mah Lipo. I have it on a small homemade foamie... After trying to read up here, I am thinking this motor is only for a geared or ducted fan setup? Can't figure out why its getting so hot.... If this is the reason what is a good setup for this motor?

Thanks for any assistance for a newbie.
Old 03-02-2009, 09:59 PM
Dr Kiwi

Default RE: Aeolianmotor 2825- KV5200 Brushless Motor Question

ORIGINAL: kody11

Hi, quick question. I am new to electrics and I bought one of these motors on ebay. It came with a 30amp ESC. I have tried several different props on this motor (10 x 4.7, 9x6, 5.5 x 4.5) all of them cause the motor and ESC to get extremely hot. I can run it at length without any prop and it stays cool. I am using a 11.1v 1500mah Lipo. I have it on a small homemade foamie... After trying to read up here, I am thinking this motor is only for a geared or ducted fan setup? Can't figure out why its getting so hot.... If this is the reason what is a good setup for this motor?

Thanks for any assistance for a newbie.