Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

can a brushed moter/esc use lipo

Old 04-11-2009, 08:03 AM
  #1  
brymez
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: helmetta, NJ
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default can a brushed moter/esc use lipo

I have a Lancair by great plain. The plain has a brushed motor with a esc. The battery that came with the setup is a 9.6 1800mah HI-MH. I would like to go with a 3 cell lipo but cannot find out anything about the esc or motor. The manual speaks nothing for these to parts or option. What should I be causes about if anything
Old 04-11-2009, 10:46 AM
  #2  
jooNorway
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Naersnes, NORWAY
Posts: 912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: can a brushed moter/esc use lipo

Of course you can.
But; I would guess your brushed motor is a typical 6-7,2V "thing". On 3S you propably need to put on a smaller propeller not to burn the brushes within some few flights. Best is to use a Wattmeter and make sure the prop used don`t cause current to exceed the motor ratings.
Second problem: the ESC propably don`t have a proper LVC to make sure the LiPoes don`t get destroyed.
Old 04-11-2009, 10:47 AM
  #3  
BigTb17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 1,167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: can a brushed moter/esc use lipo

Here is a tech note from Great Planes about using a Li-Po with that setup. [link=http://manuals.hobbico.com/gpm/gpma1165-addendum3.pdf]Lipo Use[/link]

That should tell you what you need to know.
Old 04-11-2009, 10:54 AM
  #4  
jooNorway
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Naersnes, NORWAY
Posts: 912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: can a brushed moter/esc use lipo

OK, since the weather is fantastic and I have flown my required hours today I did a quick check at Tower, who have great info on their web in addition to great service. Did I find anything??? Yes. Check out this appendix which tells what you should do, and which propeller to choose: http://manuals.hobbico.com/gpm/gpma1165-addendum3.pdf

There is a LiPo-setting on your ESC
Old 04-11-2009, 05:58 PM
  #5  
brymez
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: helmetta, NJ
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: can a brushed moter/esc use lipo

thanks to all. i did find it on tower hobbies and seen that it is a greeat planes plane. i even email tower to ask the same qestion but got no answer. and i did not find the manual on the speed controller.
thanks again
Old 04-11-2009, 06:08 PM
  #6  
Sailplane
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 131
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: can a brushed moter/esc use lipo

brymez,

You got good advice from all of the above. Helping others is what it is all about...!

Thanks to all,

Ernie
Sailplane

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.