Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Confused!

Old 06-23-2003, 09:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Confused!

Online Now
Discussion Post Total: 82

Guys....please help.

I'm new to the world of sparks, and have a problem that I'm not sure how to solve.

I have a 3D OD plane fitted with a 3 cell Lith-Ion pack, Hacker 08 BEC controller, a Torcman 350/10 motor and a APC 10x4.7 prop.

The problem is the motor is drawing too much current and shuts down after a 3 second full throttle burst.

Will upgrading to a 18 BEC controller increase this before the cells need a rest, or is this motor just inefficient for Lith-ION.?

I've tried emulating a friends set up, but with the Torcman instead of a Hacker B20L 4:1.
Old 06-23-2003, 11:49 AM

Default Confused!

Need more accurate information. What Li-ion cells are they ? What wind is the Torcman ? Are you sure it's a 350/10 (I didn't know you could get 10mm stator 350) ? What wind of Hacker B20L was your friend using and is he using exactly the same prop, cells etc. ?

My guess would be that the battery is too feeble for the motor/prop combination but there's no way to tell with the information given.

Steve
BTW please don't post the same message in several forums, one is enough.
Old 06-23-2003, 03:39 PM
My Feedback: (21)

Default Confused!

Your question can still be answered with the information given:

No, upgrading the controller will most likely not help. Amp draw is determined by the voltage of the battery, along with the motor and propeller.

Do you have any idea how many Amps your setup is drawing?

The only way to emulate a friend's setup is to copy it EXACTLY. By switching the motor without regard to how many Amps it would draw with your friend's prop
Old 06-24-2003, 06:42 AM

Default Confused!