Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Thinking about starting a motor line

Old 06-09-2010, 02:36 PM
kjg6583
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking about starting a motor line

Thinking about manufacturing large Hypo Electric Motors???
I work as an electrical engineer for a custom transformer and magnetics manufacturer. I have access to the winders, engineers, and copper and different equipment and I was wondering if it would be a good idea to start my own motor line. I would like to do very large brushless motor applications and custom motor applications for larger aircraft. Can anyone give me some input on whether or not this product would sell . Keep in mind we would want to make these motors the highest quality we can possibly achieve and offer a nice warranty with them. So they would be USA made with a warranty.

Any comments or suggestions are appreciated!!!

Kevin
Old 06-09-2010, 03:22 PM
jmohn

Default RE: Thinking about starting a motor line

Kevin,

There are a lot of motors out there. The only way to break into the market and do well wold be to make something better or unique. I don't think you can compete on price. If you could come up with a motor for larger planes that uses a gear drive system so you could use a smaller motor to swing a larger prop that would be a huge advantage over other motors.

Keep the motor in the 6-10s range and able to swing a 20-24" prop for much less cost because of batteries needed. Otherwise try and design a motor that uses lower voltage but still swings a large prop without gears. Not sure if this is possible, but it would help you sell a lot of motors.

I am not sure why nobody had gone to a gear drive system on large motors. I know that a couple companies to offer them, but those are too small or way too expensive.

Jeff
Old 06-09-2010, 04:26 PM