RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/brushed-brushless-motors-speed-controls-gear-drives-123/)
-   -   GWS flight packs (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/brushed-brushless-motors-speed-controls-gear-drives-123/1626108-gws-flight-packs.html)

Myron 03-15-2004 10:10 AM

GWS flight packs

Good Morning All,

I am new to the electric stuff and I have a few questions... I purchased a GWS flight pack this weekend... It didnt have a manual so I am wondering what is MAX amperage and voltage I can safely run through that tiny little speed control?.... I just purchased a Wattage Live Wire this weekend and it requires a 30 amp speed control.. I do have one, but I would like to keep the weight down as much as possible. Any imput would be great....

Myron

crashingagain 03-15-2004 07:57 PM

RE: GWS flight packs

There are a few different flight packs, which model # is your speed controll?

Myron 03-16-2004 09:49 AM

The part # for the kit is GWS2095 and it looks like it is a ICS300 listed on the discription on the box.... the controller is at the house and I just have the box with me at work so I hope that is correct... You replied to an earlier question about calculating the MAh on a battery pack... I am hoping that I can make 2 flight packs from the Dell Laptop battery pack... If so I will have 2 11.1 volt 1900Mah pacs for minimal cost...

Myron

PaulVi 03-17-2004 02:12 AM

Depending on what Dell laptop battery you are using I assume a newer one that is lithum Ion to get the 11.1 and 1900 mha rating.

the way they wire the pack for the laptop is to take a series parallel combination to gain overall current and voltage

the 11.1 seems to tell me that they are using 3 cells parallel and the 1900 rating is mostlikly due to the pack having 6 cells each 3 cell set is rated at 800 mha to be a combined serial set up of 3s2p

I have seen this setup in dells before.