RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/brushed-brushless-motors-speed-controls-gear-drives-123/)
-   -   Motor/esc/Prop (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/brushed-brushless-motors-speed-controls-gear-drives-123/4907717-motor-esc-prop.html)

joe0490 10-24-2006 05:26 AM

Motor/esc/Prop

Hi all:
I am new at all this and you all are my only place to get info. Can anyone tell me if there is a chart that tell one what combination should be together as far as Motor/ ESC/ Prop .
I know the type aircraft and its weight all play a part also. Just in the ballpark would be very helpful. Say I have a 400 motor and a ESC to run 12 amps how do I know what size prop to start with,and would a folding prop be the same size? Another example would be a plane that weight is 28oz would need what motor and what prop?I would think such a chart would exist someplace.

Fliprob17 10-24-2006 10:39 AM

RE: Motor/esc/Prop

I have never seen a chart that puts them all together like that. There are prop recommendations that come or go with certain motors. The big factor in selecting is the actual plane, and what it is intended to do or what you want it to do. Then you can start going from there. Generally I pick the motor and work towards the ESC and prop.

On the 400 motor and 12 amp ESC again it depends on the plane and what it's characteristics are. Could be anywhere from a 5" prop to a 9" prop. A pusher or a puller..........

joe0490 10-25-2006 04:55 AM

I gess I was looking for a easy way out. Ha Ha. I guess I will learn in time what goes with what.I was in glows for 40 yrs but don't have a clue about electric flight. Just loaded up a GL but have not taken her out yet. It seems quite heavy to me. The next nice day we will see.Thanks for the info.
Joe B

Dr Kiwi 10-25-2006 04:19 PM

The very best thing you can do is download Motocalc and play with it for 30-days free!