Notices
Car Nitro & Gas Engines Discuss all aspects of Nitro and Gas rc car engines here!

Fuel type - newbie

Old 01-27-2013, 09:13 PM
masonevans

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel type - newbie

I am new to RC cars and i'm wondering what type of fuel to run in these cars. I bought a exceed rc hyper speed 2t (.16). Can I just run regular gasoline from a gas station and mix oil into it or do I need to run a special fuel in these cars?
Old 01-27-2013, 09:20 PM
bikeordie092

Default RE: Fuel type - newbie

yeah, you can run gas if want to buy a new motor lol... sorry for the sarcasm... they take glow fuel. this fuel is a mixture of nitromethane, methanol, and a lubricant. dont get a very high content on the oil (just gets messy and harder to tune) personally, i run 30% nitro and 11% oil. most people dont stray above 30% nitro, the most common is 20%.... most people run anywhere between 8% and !2% oil, some go lower but not many people go higher.
Old 01-27-2013, 11:39 PM
masonevans

thanks so much for your help, if this only availible at hobbystores or can i make my own?
Old 01-28-2013, 07:48 AM
bikeordie092

I would recommend buying from a hobby store. And don't get the cheap stuff, its not worth the bottle its in. I run byrons and its like $32 a gallon....
Old 01-30-2013, 08:58 PM
JoeMaxx

For sport engines like yours I would suggest the 20% nitro fuel that your LHS carries.

Byron's is a great fuel and it is for people with more experience in R/C engines. It is a racing fuel and requires close attention to fuel mixtures when running it. I know I raced R/Cs and do not suggest racing fuels for beginners. Requires daily tuning and temp gauges to find the sweet spot for the day.

While I do not have much experience with Exceed Remote Control Cars and Trucks I can say they do not have huge cooling heads than running a high oil content fuel is suggested to long life and fun times.