Community
Search
Notices
Car Nitro & Gas Engines Discuss all aspects of Nitro and Gas rc car engines here!

Need help with break in and tuning

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2007, 02:30 PM
ultraLX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with break in and tuning

Whats up everybody I'm pretty new to nitro rc cars and I just bought an Ultra LX Comp. it looks pretty sweet but I want to get a different shell for it, because the stock one is to cheesy, anyways A couple years ago I was really into electric rc cars but not the really high powered ones. I went through probably about 3 or 4 of them to the point that they broke, it was alot of fun. I had a mini track set up in my back yard. But I really wanted to get a more expensive one but didnt have the coin until now.
Now that I have one I want to take real good care of it, so I have some questions,
I am at the point where im breaking the engine in, during this time am I able to drive it, how fast or slow, should I drive it, and when I start it, it sounds like It idles well and when I give it gas it goes forward no problem but when I hit the brake the engine turns off.
I have tried adjusting the throttle knob on the radio, and I can get it to brake without the engine turning off but then the Idle rpm is way to high and the car wants to move forward to fast. What should I adjust so the car will Idle normally and brake without turning off?
any help is appreciated thanks!
Old 06-25-2007, 05:44 PM
ultraLX

Default RE: Need help with break in and tuning

WELL DOES ANYBODY KNOW
I am a total newbie at this, what could be causing the car to shut off when hit the brake I brake
Old 06-25-2007, 09:06 PM
toughitaliankid

adjusts the little idle screw on the carb. When you hit the brakes, sounds like your carb is closing to far. If you turn the idle screw clockwise (in) , it should prevent the carb from closing to the point where it shuts the motor off.
Old 06-25-2007, 09:52 PM
Exist