Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car Engines > Car Nitro & Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Just one engine question. I always wondered why.

Community
Search
Notices
Car Nitro & Gas Engines Discuss all aspects of Nitro and Gas rc car engines here!

Just one engine question. I always wondered why.

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2007, 07:33 PM
Sacagawea

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just one engine question. I always wondered why.

I was wondering why rc nitro engines have all these needles and nobs you have to adjust, why can't you just start it and go like a weed whacker engine? Because those are 2-stroke engines too, and I think the nitro engines would be alot less complicated if they were more like the weed whacker ones. It may seem like a dumb question to some of you but I always wondered, plus I mainly drive electrics so i'm really no expert.
Old 08-20-2007, 07:40 PM
Codeblack

Default RE: Just one engine question. I always wondered why.

Nitro fuel is a lot more unstable and sensitive to billions of factors than gasoline. rc'ers seek best performance with minimal weight and in order to get that, you need what engines have today.
Old 08-20-2007, 07:49 PM
proptop
My Feedback: (8)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Weedeaters have a type of compensating carburetor as well...
The Walbro, or Zama, etc. have a diaphram that acts as a fuel pump and there are passages inside the carb that help to (somewhat ) regulate the fuel flow...
If you have extreme weather changes, the weedwhacker will also run lean or richer than optimal, and a little tweaking of the needles helps.
They're also sensitive to the oil ratio.

A typical glow (AKA "Nitro" ) engine is designed to be easy to operate, and be cost effective to manufacture, and not too overly expensive to purchase by the end user. If they (the manuf. ) were to add a more complicated carb, would you want to spend 50 or 100. (or whatever ) more dollars for it?