RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Car Nitro & Gas Engines (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/car-nitro-gas-engines-269/)
-   -   my trx 2.5 stalls when i hit the brake (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/car-nitro-gas-engines-269/6100349-my-trx-2-5-stalls-when-i-hit-brake.html)

mike323 07-11-2007 09:27 PM

my trx 2.5 stalls when i hit the brake

i have tried tuning my engine tons of times but still it cuts out when touch the brake.i have tried every thing im kinda new with nitro cars and i need some help with tuning my engine.if anybody has any advice or why it does this let me know.

megamaxx 07-11-2007 10:01 PM

RE: my trx 2.5 stalls when i hit the brake

could be a couple of things 1 engine idle is to high ,2 chk the clutch spring, may be busted not alowing the shoes to disengage the bell

ultraLX 07-11-2007 10:53 PM

I think the problem is that your engine Idle is to low I had the same problem with mine.... I had to turn the Idle screw in a lot more than what I thought was needed.... then adjust the throttle trim on the controller as needed..
hope that helps

mike323 07-11-2007 11:06 PM

thanks i will try adjusting the idle screw do you know the setting for it

lemans23 07-12-2007 08:51 AM

You want the carburetor to be about 1-2mm open at idle. Just enough to keep it from moving, but enough to keep it running without bogging down low.

JeffyB 07-12-2007 10:10 AM

I have had this happen to me, in my situation it was the clutch springs that was to blame they wouldn't let the bell spin freely when the brakes were applied and just stalled the engine. Worth a look before you go changing needle settings.

proptop 07-12-2007 10:40 AM

You need to adjust the idle speed stop screw...just go by feel, turn it in a little at a time until you get it to where the engine will keep running when you hit the brakes.
It's a bit of a balancing act...

mike323 07-12-2007 02:20 PM