Notices

Century 50NX

Old 12-26-2010, 07:22 PM
funkinflying

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Century 50NX

Hi all,

I just ordered my first nitro heli, the Century 50NX. I'm new to the hobby, and I thought it is a good choice for a newb. I wanted to start this thread so i could learn a little (hopefully a lot) and maybe have some fun along the way.

With the kit on it's way I started to research all of the other gear I would need (radio, servo's, gyro, engine, etc). I have the radio already picked out (Futaba 10CHP), and I'll get to the questions about servo's and gyro'slater. What I am having a lot of confusion about right now is the engine. I guess the best place to start is what I am looking for in an engine. I'd like to get an engine that is smooth, easy to tune (never played with nitro) that will help me learn how to fly (doubt i'll need help with the crash part). I know O.S., Novarossi, Thunder Tiger, and Y.S. make engines for helicopters, but i don't know what to look for. They are all priced relatively close, and the specifications shown on each website doesn't really give me the "wow" factor, telling me that's the right engine for the 50NX.

Here's the Century 50NX weblink if you're interested in the heli.

http://www.centuryheli.com/products/...?currentid=598

I would greatly appreciate any help and advise. Also, feel free to post a pic of your project. I'd love to see what everyone else is doing.

thanx
Old 12-27-2010, 05:28 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 345 Likes on 276 Posts
Default RE: Century 50NX

I'd run either the OS or YS with confidence.

If you're just starting out the the OS 50 Hyper is plenty and a really good deal right now because of the 55 being recently introduced.

I emplore you to find someone in your area that flys to go over it and help you out, even if you have to drive an hour or two it will cost you a lot less in the long run.
Old 12-27-2010, 06:27 AM
funkinflying