Notices

Honest replies only!!!!!

Old 01-20-2007, 06:53 PM
Flyer2k5
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honest replies only!!!!!

Has anyone taught themselves how to fly without an instructor. Is it possible to teach myself to fly a Hawk pro? Thanks
Old 01-20-2007, 07:04 PM
giavonnie
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Honest replies only!!!!!

Hello I did teach myself to fly copters I started out on a Hirobo XRB Lama which I think is the easiest heli to fly and most inexpensive to fix and also is extremely durable for its size. I then moved on to use a realflight simulator and used that for a few weeks while I was building my Raptor 30. I was flying by myself within two months. I and probably considered a intermediate heli pilot now I am working on 3-d soon. I think I learned so quickly because I opperate heavy machinery for a living and that takes the same skills as flying.

-G
Old 01-20-2007, 08:14 PM
DebianDog

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Dude you live in Augusta! There all TONS and TONS of pilots in that area.

I would highly discourage teaching yourself.
Old 01-20-2007, 09:00 PM
Mikes machines

Yes I taught myself. Would I do it over again. Definately not. I crashed a Hirobo Shuttle 7 times in about 3 months. Each crash averaged about $100.00. I became very discouraged and did not try to fly the Shuttle for almost 8 months, then I tried again. This time I actually got to burn through about 4 or 5 tanks of fuel before I wrecked it again. I had no idea what a throttle curve was, I had no idea what idle up meant, I let the smoke out of a $120.00 gyro, I had no idea how to set the blade tracking. If I would have had someone to at least tell me why the little pushy thing on the spinny thing needs to go to the right I could have saved several crashes and saved LOTS of aggravation. Yes its possible, no it wont be easy and no it wont be cheap. If you dont want to or cant find some help at least get a sim.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version