Notices

Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

Old 03-26-2007, 07:51 PM
  #1  
lawnhawk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
lawnhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 215
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

I built a Hawk Sport a few years back with the O.S. 32. Not a problem.

I am now assembling a Hawk Pro with the O.S. 37. I don't consider myself incompetent, but I can't figure out HOW IN THE %*@ DO YOU MOUNT THE THROTTLE LEVER ON THE 37 CARB????

I can't find a collar screw or anything in the kit. Help please! [:@]
Old 03-26-2007, 08:21 PM
  #2  
lawnhawk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
lawnhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 215
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

Ok I finally found another thread on this. Guess I'll have to be creative.

I wonder if Century even knows there is no direct fit for the throttle lever on the O.S. 37...[&o]
Old 03-26-2007, 11:04 PM
  #3  
Cambo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Cambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,589
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

I just centered mine and screwed it on tight. It workds fine.
Old 03-27-2007, 01:24 AM
  #4  
lawnhawk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
lawnhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 215
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

Cambo, what did you use for a bolt? The hole in the throttle lever is much bigger than the screw head that came with the carb.

I'm gonna call Century later. There has to be a clean way to do this.
Old 03-27-2007, 08:33 AM
  #5  
PeaceKpr76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northumberland, PA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

Yeah, I just screwed mine on too. I just used the locking washer under the hex bolt. I don't remember if the washer and bolt came on the carb or with the throttle lever. But, it's nothing that I bought extra. It either came with the O.S. .37 engine or in the bag that contained the throttle lever from Century. I wasn't happy with the set up either but, it works with only a gallon of fuel through the helicopter. It is a pain however, getting it into position for throttle servo setup. It took me some time to get it screwed down at the right location for my engine cut-off to work and not bind the servo. Then, I just adjusted my Radio linits. Hope this helps!
Old 03-27-2007, 05:47 PM
  #6  
bshaf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

I had the same problem with my 37 in the Hawk Sport. Take the arm off the 37, use the lock washer that's under it. Use the bolt from the 37 with a washer, split lock washer through the arm that came with the Hawk, then put the lock washer that you took off in the first place between the arm and the throttle body. Thats how I have mine on, 3.5 gallons and still holding. I did order an upgrade arm from Heli World for the 37, just have not put it on yet.

They should send more than one arm for different engines, but.
Old 03-27-2007, 07:46 PM
  #7  
lawnhawk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
lawnhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 215
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

I talked to Century today. Throttle lever part number CN2153-1 is made for the O.S. 37.

I must have gotten a Friday kit, because I also had to make my own holes in the cooling shroud (stock ones were 1/8" off).

I'm kind of disappointed with this one [&o]
Old 03-28-2007, 01:53 PM
  #8  
syclic
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: rural, AB, CANADA
Posts: 1,030
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

Due to the design of the OS32 carb, the Hawks came with the throttle lever refered to in the instructions.

The OS37 uses a different carb design. It does not need the adapter. You can just attach the ball joint to the inside of the plastic OS arm of the OS37 carb and it will work.
Old 03-28-2007, 05:27 PM
  #9  
lawnhawk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
lawnhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 215
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

I'm sorry cyclic, I'm not trying to ask for help then argue, but when I put the stock horn on, it is right up against the frame, preventing the barrel from rotating.

Do you have a pic of your setup?
Old 03-28-2007, 06:28 PM
  #10  
Cambo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Cambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,589
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

So cut the side off that is in contact with the frame
Old 03-29-2007, 01:04 PM
  #11  
syclic
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: rural, AB, CANADA
Posts: 1,030
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hawk Pro Throttle Lever

As Cambo said or you can use any small spacer between the arm and the barrel, even some washers will do.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.