Notices

Hawk Sport not enough lift

Old 05-06-2007, 09:15 PM
carguy1994ca

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hawk Sport not enough lift

Hi everyone. I'm new to RC helis but been flying airplanes for some years. I got myself a slightly used Hawk Sport and tried it this morning. Here is the set up: On normal mode, low throtle stick is - 2 degree of pitch, 50% stick is 0 degree, 75% stick is 6 degrees, and 100% is 10 degrees, measured with a robart pitch meter.

Engine is OS 32 SX-H well tuned, radio is Spektrum 2,4 Ghz DX7. Blades that came with the heli are wood, symetrical, 543 mm long (total lenght), CSM heading lock gyro, heli-max training gear. Fuel is 20% oil, 15% nitro heli.

Everything is running smooth, blade tracking is OK, no vibration. Problem: Heli is trying to lift but even at full throtle can barely get off the ground. I put the hovering pitch trim at full and still would not get off the ground. I went into pitch curve on normal mode and adjusted all the points up to get more pitch. Now it lifts off the ground with some wind to help it but still has not much power.

The clutch is not slipping (at idle i feel the blades want to move strongly as soon as i move throtle sick up). The engine seems to be revving too much, like its not working hard if i dont put the hover pitch trim full up.

What could be wrong? I feel it doent have enough pitch.... Thanks in advance guys !
Old 05-06-2007, 09:38 PM
Cambo
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Hawk Sport not enough lift

What are your throttle curves, sounds like they are to low at mid stick and your engine doesn't have enough momentum to move up to full throttle. I am running almost 70% throttle at mid stick. Pitch at full stick is 11.5 inches. That is with an os 37 though
Old 05-06-2007, 09:53 PM
carguy1994ca

Wow that was fast reply Cambo ! Here is the throtle curve: 25 % stick = 17% throtle
50% stick = 38% throtle (0 degree pitch)
75% stick = 50% throtle (6 degrees pitch)