Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Century - Predator, Hawk IV, Falcon, Raven
Reload this Page >

hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

Notices

hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

Old 09-23-2007, 06:24 PM
  #1  
929freak
Member
Thread Starter
 
929freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: warrington, PA
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

bought a used hawk pro from one of the local heli guys..he is a good guy,well maintaned equipment,pretty wise when it comes to helis.So I trust that everything is on the up and up...when I flew the maiden voyage the temp went way too high (almost 400) I am running 30% in an os 32,there is no binding in the heli and the motor seemed to be running fine,it had power ,although this is my first nitro so it seemed to have power to me...what could be the prob,or do I just need to fatten her up? I am in no way new to nitro,I've been racin nitro trucks buggys and cars for years,but this being a heli I figured I should seek help from you guys...
Old 09-23-2007, 07:21 PM
  #2  
grouper1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lodi, OH
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

Had the same issue. Remove the cowel and fill in the dead space between the cyliner, head and the cowel so the air is forced across the the engine. Reduced mine by 85F. Take apeek with a flashlight and you'll see what I mean.
Old 09-23-2007, 08:32 PM
  #3  
929freak
Member
Thread Starter
 
929freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: warrington, PA
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

not following you at all!!..have to look at the heli tomorrow...fill the space with what???
Old 09-24-2007, 10:10 AM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,066
Received 248 Likes on 200 Posts
Default RE: hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

You are probably running too lean, and sorry but 400f is probably toasted an ABC engine.

If it was being run on lower nitro and you switched to 30 percent without opening the needle would cause that. So would a bad clunk or fuel line, a clogged fuel filter, or dirt in the carb.
Old 09-24-2007, 03:40 PM
  #5  
929freak
Member
Thread Starter
 
929freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: warrington, PA
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

just found out I was mis-informed as to what percent the previous owner was running...he was running 15,I ran 30......well here is to hoping the motor isn't toast...only ran an 1/8 of a tank(if that).I think it will be o.k.....ihopeihopeihopeihopeihopeihopeihope
Old 09-24-2007, 07:17 PM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,066
Received 248 Likes on 200 Posts
Default RE: hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

If its not toasted open the needle valve atleast half a turn if not 3/4 of one and tune from there.
Old 09-24-2007, 10:54 PM
  #7  
929freak
Member
Thread Starter
 
929freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: warrington, PA
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hawk pro 30..os.32 high temp help!!?

actualy found out he was running byrons 15%........gonna just go with it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.