Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pattern Universe - RC Pattern Flying > Classic RC Pattern Flying
Reload this Page >

Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Old 06-06-2013, 09:03 PM
  #1  
WMann
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Randleman, NC
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Hi guys,

I am restoring the last Hobby Barn Super Arrow that I built back in the mid 80s. I couldn't wait for the new YS 61s that I ordered to arrive so I bought one the new Nova Rossi Speed/13 engines. The airplane has a CB Associates 80 mount in it. The problem is the header 40401 has the rise I need, but the round exhaust port on the engine is really low and it is all over the top of the mount. The firewall is loose in the plane and will have to be replaced anyway so I may as well find a mount that is better suited for this engine. What has everyone found to be the best mount for this engine. I would prefer aluminum.

Thanks for the help.


Wayne Mann
Old 06-07-2013, 06:59 AM
  #2  
dphill2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dphill2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hueytown, AL
Posts: 624
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Hi Wayne,
I had the same problem with my bootlegger and had to modify the mount by cutting away some of the material at the top of the mount so the pipe would clear. I used my dremel tool with a sanding drum to cut the radius I needed to clear. Work like a champ.
The mount I used, was a OS aluminum mount for a 61 FX,SF,RF part # 71905200. The mount comes with the legs drilled and tapped for the OS motor but fit the Nova Rossi perfect.. ( I am also using the NR Speed 13 )
I found one of these @ the Perry Ga. swap meet and I also found one on The Bay for 20.00

Dave..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl29458.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	1889581   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51221.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	56.8 KB
ID:	1889582  
Old 06-07-2013, 07:05 AM
  #3  
lfinney
Senior Member
My Feedback: (44)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: kuna, ID
Posts: 896
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

the tatone NOS OS 61 mount is what I use often, they are predrilled and tapped, i clearance the beams to let motor drop in, and use carbide burr to clearance mount for header, ebay is my source around 10-15 dollars NIB
Old 06-07-2013, 03:31 PM
  #4  
WMann
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Randleman, NC
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the help. I will get one of the OS mounts on order. I have everything I need to modify it for the Rossi header.


Wayne
Old 06-07-2013, 03:35 PM
  #5  
doxilia
My Feedback: (3)
 
doxilia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Montreal, QC, CANADA
Posts: 5,200
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

So this means that the OS, Rossi and NovaRossi all have the same lug mounting dimensions. Make sense Dave?

David
Old 06-07-2013, 03:59 PM
  #6  
dphill2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dphill2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hueytown, AL
Posts: 624
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

That's right David, it will mount in the same holes and the prop shaft worked out also.
I just checked on the Bay and saw a couple for sale if ya need one !!

Dave..
Old 06-08-2013, 04:26 AM
  #7  
hrrcflyer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Carrollton
Posts: 1,698
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Hey Dphill2,

Is that the same motor mount you used in your DB ARF?

Thanks,
David
Old 06-09-2013, 03:48 AM
  #8  
CHiatt
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Hey Wayne,
This thread is worthless without pics!

Seriously, good luck with the project and I'll see you at Mac's!

Cliff
Old 06-09-2013, 10:42 AM
  #9  
dphill2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dphill2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hueytown, AL
Posts: 624
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

David, I don't have a DB ARF but my son has one, I'm not sure what mount he used in it but has a OS SF pumper ..


Dave II
Old 06-09-2013, 04:21 PM
  #10  
hrrcflyer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Carrollton
Posts: 1,698
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Dave II,

I apologize for my confusion. I remembered someone put one of the new Novarossi's in their DB ARF and I thought it was you...........[&o] I'll have to go back through the DB ARF thread and refresh my memory.

Take care,
David
Old 06-09-2013, 05:31 PM
  #11  
dphill2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dphill2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hueytown, AL
Posts: 624
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

David ,
Paul Pappas did one and mounted the Rossi on the side with the pipe going over the wing.
I think it was on the DB thread when the airplane first came out ! The Picture is my Tipo that I'm flying the New Speed /13 and I used that mount ..

Dave II.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz78165.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	157.4 KB
ID:	1890364  
Old 06-10-2013, 03:16 AM
  #12  
hrrcflyer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Carrollton
Posts: 1,698
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Thanks Dave............ How do you like your Tipo with the Novarossi in it?

Take care,
David
Old 06-10-2013, 05:19 AM
  #13  
dphill2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dphill2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hueytown, AL
Posts: 624
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

David,

The motor does a great job !! I'm now flying it with a 11 X10 APC prop and the thing acts just like a long stroke YS .
Very quite and has loads of power and the throttle response is perfect. What more can I say .

Dave..
Old 06-11-2013, 07:52 PM
  #14  
WMann
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Randleman, NC
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Motor Mount for New Nova Rossi Speed/13

Hey Cliff,

Yea, I hear you about the pics. As soon as the mount gets here I will take and post some pics as the plane comes back to life.


Wayne
Old 02-12-2014, 08:03 PM
  #15  
Mr-Punk
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mr-Punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

dphill2 Have you had a chance to tach your speed 13 on the 11x10? I'm thinking of getting one and putting on my Killer Kaos. I run a os 61fx and have flown it with a 11x10 some.
Old 02-13-2014, 09:24 AM
  #16  
dphill2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dphill2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hueytown, AL
Posts: 624
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, I did tach the 11 X10 APC and it turned around 12,000 ! The airplane lost some speed (about 10 MPH) but did not seem to suffer in a vertical climb, it just did it slower. The sound of the engine was very quite compared to the 11X7 !!! Lot less RPM.
I was running 10% fuel and a funny thing about this set up, it seemed to run cooler.. When I ran the 11X7 1/2 Rev up I got dark oil out of the pipe !! (Not Black just dark.) The engine never seem to sag or run hot at anytime. When we ran the 11X10 the oil out of the pipe was clear as it could be and the head temp was cooler !! Figure that one !!

Dave..

Last edited by dphill2; 02-13-2014 at 09:27 AM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.