Community
Search
Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Ah, another G60 Bluehead...

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2008, 07:30 PM
NM2K
My Feedback: (14)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Ah, another G60 Bluehead...

I just opened the box and examined the ST G60 Bluehead that I bought off eBay a while back. With all the variations that are available, I got lucky and received the exact model that I have been using for twenty years (bought used from a friend). This one has a flat piston with a chromed liner and a piston ring, but not a Dykes ring. It feels great, but needs an antifreeze bath and some freshening up with a tooth brush. Not bad for $60.

The cylinder head is absolutely pristine. No scratches in the blued finish. Not even a smudge. The engine feels really great when turned over. Too bad that not a single new engine feels that good today (ringed, that is).

I'm smiling.

Ed Cregger
Old 11-10-2008, 11:48 PM
rainedave
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Ah, another G60 Bluehead...

Congrats! As I'm sure you know - but some readers might not - an antifreeze bath can effect the anodized finish on the head.

David
Old 11-11-2008, 03:43 AM
NM2K

Yep, but I'll remove the cylinder head for this bath. Thanks for the reminder.

Ed Cregger
Old 11-11-2008, 06:02 AM
dhal22

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

i have a nib hanno special that saw a lot of exposure over the yrs, the engine was mounted. i would love to clean it up a little but would hate to damage it in any way. would this way or the dawn power dissolver be the better way?

thx, david
Old 11-11-2008, 06:58 AM
proptop
My Feedback: (8)

The antifreeze/crockpot method works very well...you don't need to get it hot though, just warm, say 100 degrees or so and that will not cause any discoloration, except to anodized parts. Just be sure to remove the head first or it'll probably come out pink...