Notices
Club 40 Discuss all Club 40 flying here.

Club 40 Charleston SC

Old 07-27-2015, 03:44 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Club 40 Charleston SC

I am fairly new to the Charleston area and was wondering if any local clubs currently host club 40 events. If not, does anyone know where the closest events may be held? I have flown club 40 in Northeast Ohio for a few years and really enjoyed it and would love to get back into it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Chris
Old 07-27-2015, 06:57 AM

Chris,

Don Stegall is just SE of Charlotte, NC. You will probably hear from him soon. It looks like he is closest to you.

Just about everywhere else, the Club 40 Circuit started with one guy. Call me, I believe I can be off assistance.

Ken Erickson
812-603-8190
Columbus, IN
Old 07-28-2015, 05:35 AM

Thanks Ken,
I appreciate the information. I thought about trying to start my own Club 40 but the club that I joined down here has a field that would probably not qualify due to a significant tree line that would eat a lot of airplanes if it was even attempted. I may be regulated to traveling for events but I am ok with that. I just won't be able to do as many as I would like.

Thanks again!

Chris
Old 07-28-2015, 09:01 AM

Marcus Blanchard belonged to a club in Charleston that was on an old landfill. He ran a 3 pole race there. See if you can find that club and we'll get RCPRO Club 46 Gold going there. I'm working on re-establishing Club 40 in the Charlotte area. Check out the links in my signature below for rules, etc. I think running Club 40 Broze for newcomers would be a good idea.

And there is a great 3 pole facility outside of Greensboro, NC with a new 525' x 60' paved runway. The first event there will be the NMPRA Championship race in the fall, but practice sessions will probably be held at that facility before then.

I have all four colors of Sky Raider Mach II ARF kits in stock ... solid white, yellow, orange, and red.