Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
Reload this Page >

Run a brushless motor without ESC?

Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Run a brushless motor without ESC?

Old 01-18-2011, 01:25 PM
  #1  
amv101
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: , NV
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Run a brushless motor without ESC?

I have a small project I am working on and would like to power a brushless motor without a reciever or possibly an ESC. This component of the project does not require a radio signal or transmitter/receiver.

The objective is to have continuous power to the brushless motor with a simple on / off switch. I dont need it plugged into a receiver, but all brushless ESCs I can see have the RX connector for throttle or speed. Is there a simple hack or product that supplies constant voltage (off/on) to the brushless motor without the need for a receiver?

thanks!
Old 01-18-2011, 01:55 PM
  #2  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,304
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Run a brushless motor without ESC?

A simple solution is to use a servo tester, they all have a knob that will allow you to control the speed with. They go for from ten to twenty bucks, depending on where you buy.
Running a BLDC motor without an ESC? No can do, as the ESC provides the electrical commutation that the commutator and brushes normally provide.
Pete
Old 01-18-2011, 02:14 PM
  #3  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Run a brushless motor without ESC?

Yep, you may be able to get by without a servo, but the ESC is a must-have item for a brushless.
Old 01-18-2011, 06:24 PM
  #4  
DGrant
My Feedback: (4)
 
DGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 1,977
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Run a brushless motor without ESC?

10-4 on that ESC. The ESC creates the field that turns the armature.

If you want it that simple just use a "brushed" motor.. they're about 5-cents nowadays... then you don't need any sort of ESC, and you can use any switch you want, and even get the speed you want by basically adjusting the voltage via battery pack.
Old 01-19-2011, 12:24 PM
  #5  
amv101
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: , NV
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Run a brushless motor without ESC?

Thanks for the replies. I know I can run a brushless without a servo and I also know I can run a brushed motor. I just need an ESC without the throttle / speed connector that goes to the RX unit.

My application requires a maintenance free motor, hence the brushless need. I dont need speed control or any knobs, just a simple straight 3.7 volts to a brushless motor with an on/off switch.

Any ideas? Thanks.
Old 01-23-2011, 05:28 PM
  #6  
SteveW
My Feedback: (36)
 
SteveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockledge, FL
Posts: 195
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Run a brushless motor without ESC?

Well, it's probably just semantics but you're asking for an Electronic Speed Control unit (ESC) without the a speed control function. I'm not sure but I don't think you'll find that in a hobby grade unit. Have you tried a Google search for "brushless motor control" ?
Old 01-24-2011, 08:35 PM
  #7  
Montague
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Laurel, MD,
Posts: 4,987
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Run a brushless motor without ESC?

What you need is a "simple" bit of circuit that basically pretends to be a receiver. All you need to do is put your 4.8v on the red wire, ground on the black/brown wire, and a square wave with the right pulse width on the signal wire. Looking up the signal info isn't complicated, it's the same signal that all normal servos use.

pilotpete2 pointed out that a servo controller is exactly that kind of device with a more complicated UI than you need, since you just need to send the minimum pulse rate and the maximum rate for the extreme travel range. But you should get a cheap ESC and a cheap servo controller as pilotpete2 suggested as a starting point.

I forgot to add, you'll want to make sure you know what kind of current you're going to pull with your motor, since it sounds like you aren't using a prop. If you have a very low load, you can use a really small ESC and you might not need one with a BEC.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.