Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
Reload this Page >

My '83' vintage Royal tachometer just died.

Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

My '83' vintage Royal tachometer just died.

Old 01-02-2020, 11:19 AM
  #1  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,614
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My '83' vintage Royal tachometer just died.

After 36 years of faithful service my Royal tach has finally given up the ghost so I am now in the market for a replacement, but I have no idea which of the current and reasonably priced units are really worth getting. With that said I would appreciate your comments and suggestions on what works and what does not.

Last edited by karolh; 01-02-2020 at 07:07 PM.
Old 01-02-2020, 01:37 PM
  #2  
EloyM@twc.com
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have had some success in repairing the old .Royal tachs, though some of the components are not longer available. For example, if the meter or range switch are gone, there are no replacements available and the whole thing is kaput! What will you take for your DOA tach, shipped to 92704., it might have some good parts.
I have the complete original RCM article, schematics and even with Kinko's elevated copy prices, copies are available should you have a local tech willing to tackle it There are no similar tachs available that I know of, except for a "TNC" which is quite pricey. The digitals have problems. First of all, the engines themselves seldom hold a steady RPM at max throttle, and the tach doesn't either. The resulting reading changes so much it is not even possible to get an average reading.. Luck, EloyM@twc.com
Old 01-02-2020, 01:42 PM
  #3  
EloyM@twc.com
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Have to mention, I have been to Kingston!I still have Harry Belafonte 33 rpm records and love Day-O! Eloy
Old 01-02-2020, 07:10 PM
  #4  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,614
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Had to make a correction to my original post as the tach is 36 years old and not 66 as originally posted....seems like my math really sucks
Old 01-02-2020, 07:13 PM
  #5  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,614
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by EloyM@twc.com View Post
Have to mention, I have been to Kingston!I still have Harry Belafonte 33 rpm records and love Day-O! Eloy
Harry is certainly one of the good old boys that had our flag flying high in the music world way back then.
Old 01-02-2020, 07:20 PM
  #6  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,614
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks much for sharing that important and informative bit of information with me. I plan on looking into the innards of the tach to see if there is anything that does not seem right as I have very little if any knowledge of things electronic. I just recently replaced it's 9 volt battery but I will check it just to be sure its still ok. It turns on and off okay but it just does not sense or indicate rpm.
Old 01-07-2020, 09:46 AM
  #7  
ticedoff8
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you have a smartphone (aka: iPhone or Android), there are a couple of tachometer apps that all seem to cost around $5.
I use one for my heli and it should work for fixed wing too.
It is an audio tach and just needs to be close to the engine. I typically set the phone down on the ground and hover over it. They are adjustable for blade count.

I also use a shutter style optical tach. You point the view finder at the blades and then rotate a dial until the blades become motionless in the view finder. The RPM is displayed and holds until you press the reset button or it turns off. It basically takes two hands to do the measurement and requires a buddy standing next to you to do the measurement if you are flying a heli. But, with a fixed wing, you could anchor the plane to the ground and do the reading solo.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.