Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
For those who have a shed for building... >

For those who have a shed for building...

Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

For those who have a shed for building...

Old 03-29-2021, 06:51 AM
  #1  
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 7,266
Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Default For those who have a shed for building...

We're building a house and plan to have a shed for workworking and RC plane building. I'll also store tools and the lawnmower in there along with Christmas decorations. So for those who have done it or know someone who's done it, I have some questions.
I plan to have a bandsaw, mini table saw, shop vac/dust collector, belt sander, scroll saw, and drill press. Everything else I should be able to do with hand tools. Of course I'll have a building table and a narrower work table, probably attached to the wall.

1. Size? I read a thread that said 12x16 worked well. Is that enough?
2. Shape? Is long better than square?
3. Roof? Gabled or barn style?
4. Anything else?
Old 03-29-2021, 09:11 AM
  #2  
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,368
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

The #1, can't fail, rule of sheds;

Calculate carefully the size you think you'll need, and then double it when you actually build it
Old 03-29-2021, 09:34 AM
  #3  
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 7,266
Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Yeah, I get the whole build as big as you can afford. We'll have an HOA that limits what we're allowed, and cost is always a consideration. So I need to work out what's feasible. The option will be there to make a garage bay a second work area if needed, but I'd rather not.
Old 03-29-2021, 03:23 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I put up a 12x20 and not nearly big enough haha
I agree figure out what you need then at least double it
Old 03-29-2021, 04:46 PM
  #5  
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,867
Received 77 Likes on 68 Posts
Default

I solved the HOA problem on my greenhouse by buying a kit. Since it is temporary they don't have a say about it. You can buy a storage shed for your storage and a larger "dollhouse" for your planes. You don't need a solid floor for storage so that saves money. And the dollhouse should come with a wood floor which makes it easier to run electric cables. It costs a little more but time is money. And at my age stress is hard on the body.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.