Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

GYRO in airplanes!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2009, 11:32 PM
ekamouse86

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GYRO in airplanes!!!

Hi everyone. i'm kinda new to this hobby. (already crashed some planes and helis) and still learning. i was reading some ideas about smooth flying, and ran to this newly technology that some people are actually using gyro (gyro 350 or 351) on their plane. can anyone help me and explain the benefits of using gyro in airplanes.

thanks.
Old 09-15-2009, 03:30 AM
beepee

Default RE: GYRO in airplanes!!!

ekamouse,

Gyros are used in fixed wing aircraft for a variety of reasons. Mostly to stablize a particularly bad characteristic of a specific plane. Not an issue in a trainer. If you used one at this stage of learning, you would only slow up the process.

I have a rate gyro in yaw (rudder) on a short tailed biplane. Without it, it can be a bear in ground handling and very difficult in crosswind. With it, the bipe becomes a very different, much more friendly flyer. I have mine switchable so that it does not function other than on the ground or on approach, etc. Left on in the air, it screws up aerobatics and drains the battery ('cause it is constantly trying to fix my stick action). I know of guys that use them on twins to help reaction to an engine out situation.

Before everyone jumps in to say this is cheating, don't. Anything that makes this hobby more fun is part of it and not cheating (outside of competition, of course). For that matter, an electric starter is cheating, an ARF is ... I could go on for ever.

Have fun!

Bedford
Old 09-15-2009, 10:11 AM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts