Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Bridi fiberglass fuse construction?

Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Bridi fiberglass fuse construction?

Old 08-25-2005, 11:36 AM
N1EDM
My Feedback: (2)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Bridi fiberglass fuse construction?

I bought an old Joe Bridi kit that had a fiberglass fuse, cowl, and wheel pants. These items came already 'assembled' in the box.

My question is - does anyone know if Bridi kits came with these pieces already joined In which case I'd trust the joint), or did someone do that after the fact (in which case, I would have to do a lot of worrying)? I noticed that the cowl didn't have any fiberglass tape along the seam. Now I'm wondering if I should 'trust' the construction. There were no formers installed.

I've never worked with this type of a kit before, so I want to know what I might expect, or if I am going to get myself into trouble...

Thanks for any info you might have.

Bob
Old 08-26-2005, 10:22 AM
DHG
My Feedback: (7)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Bridi fiberglass fuse construction?

Bob,

My only experience with Bridi glass kits came from working in a hobby shop during the 1970s. At the time, I marveled at the quality of the parts, though of course I could never afford one on what the hobby shop was paying me.

I wouldn't worry about the seams. A greater concern would be whether the resin has become brittle with age. Even so, once you've installed the servo tray, wing hold-downs, etc., with PFM or Shoe Goo, and added a firewall using fresh resin and chopped glass, it ought to be airworthy.

Just out of curiosity, what kit is it?

Duane Gall
RCPRO
Old 08-26-2005, 11:17 AM
SCALECRAFT
My Feedback: (13)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Bob,