Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Vacuum Bagging & Gorilla Glue Experiment

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Vacuum Bagging & Gorilla Glue Experiment

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2006, 07:12 PM
Newc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vacuum Bagging & Gorilla Glue Experiment

Since I am new to vacuum bagging, have seen a couple of great videos on the subject (Jim Young’s at http://www.rcgroups.com/links/index.php?id=4901 and one provided by Aerospace Composite Products that came with my purchase of their EZ Vac system) and have heard different things about the use of Gorilla Glue for sheeting, I conducted an experiment, the report on which follows. Note that the epoxy used for the experiment was not laminating resin, but was what I had on hand. This may affect any direct comparisons with Gorilla Glue, but I believe that the basic findings are valid. Comments are solicited.
************************************************** ************************************************** ********

Vacuum Bagging Experiment – January 20-21, 2006

Four (4) pieces of 2” expanded polystyrene* were sheeted, both sides, with 1/16” balsa. Two (2) pieces each used Anchor Bond Epoxy (not a laminating epoxy, but what was readily available) and Gorilla Glue and each pair was split - vacuum bagging using ACP EZ Vac system and weighted down with 20#.

*Note that Styrofoam®™ (a term used very frequently in modeling circles) is a trademark of Dow Chemical Company for their extruded polystyrene, and is always blue in color. The expanded polystyrene is the typical white foam, and the density of this foam may vary from manufacturer to manufacturer.