Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

New guy to composites

Old 08-06-2007, 03:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy to composites

I am pretty new to the whole fiberglassing world, i.e. just glassed my first model. I am building the TF Skylane and would like to fabricate fiberglass wingtips for it. Is there any easy way to make a mold of the shaped balsa tips and then make glass ones from that mold? What would I use to make a mold? Would it have to be vacuum bagged? If you guys could help a poor guy out it would really be appreciated, I think this would look and last much better than the balsa tips...

Thanks
Dan
Old 08-07-2007, 05:28 PM

Default RE: New guy to composites

No help??... Never seem to get my questions answered around here....
Old 08-07-2007, 06:56 PM

Go here and search the site for the Tutorial section. The mold making process is fully described.

http://www.cstsales.com

Ed S
Old 08-07-2007, 11:47 PM
My Feedback: (5)

ORIGINAL: Ed Smith

Go here and search the site for the Tutorial section. The mold making process is fully described.

http://www.cstsales.com

Ed S
I made my first molds by following this very tutorial. It is realy basic, but a good start.

Wheel pants and cowl for a Goldberg Ultimate.
Old 08-08-2007, 07:59 AM

Sweet Ill check it out... Thanks guys!!
Old 08-08-2007, 08:17 AM

If you want more answers, start with simpler questions. Your question requires a chapter to answer!
Old 08-08-2007, 10:42 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Exactly what I was thinking
Old 08-08-2007, 11:01 AM

Which is why I sent him to the CST site.

Ed S
Old 08-08-2007, 02:18 PM