Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
 How do you use/apply C/F? >

How do you use/apply C/F?

Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

How do you use/apply C/F?

Old 07-04-2008, 07:23 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How do you use/apply C/F?

Carbon Fiber is something I've never used before in construction. What methods are required for it's use and what are the applications of the product?
Old 07-04-2008, 10:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How do you use/apply C/F?

You've kind of asked a really broad question...what kind of applications are you thinking about starting with?

In a broad sense, working with carbon fiber is no different than working with fiberglass. There are a lot of techniques to achieve good finishes and high fiber to resin ratios so you benefit from the strength of the material...let us know more about what you are looking to do and we'll be glad to help.
Old 07-05-2008, 05:01 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I didn't realize that I was being so general in my request, sorry. I've seen in construction articles where it has been applied to wing spars or longerons to add strength, but having never used it, I don't know what thicknesses of the material to use, what glues to use, etc. Does it come in sheets, tapes, rods? After many years of building models, I've learned acceptable balsa and plywood thicknesses for specific applications to the point of being able to scratch build. I haven't learned that about C/F. I hope that this helps to clarify my question.
Old 07-09-2008, 10:24 PM

I have some of Dave Brown's CF tow, two packs in fact but I have never really found a good way to apply it other than painting on a coat of epoxy and somehow getting the stuff into it. then another coat before it cures. Be very careful when you open the package or you'l have the biggest mess you ever saw.
Old 07-10-2008, 08:15 PM