RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Composites Fabrication And Repair (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/composites-fabrication-repair-97/)
-   -   Z Poxy Cowl Repair (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/composites-fabrication-repair-97/11601415-z-poxy-cowl-repair.html)

RoyR 07-15-2014 08:09 AM

Z Poxy Cowl Repair

I want to find out if anyone else has this problem, as I can’t find it discussed anywhere else. I hope this is the right place to post this question.

I am rebuilding and recovering a Velox II Revolution ARF and will switch from a Saito 110 to a DLE 20.
I wanted to repair the cowl and cover the holes I had cut out for the cylinder head and muffler on the Saito that had been installed on the plane.
The cowl had two large holes 2 to three inches around plus ¼ inch holes for fuel lines and needle valve.
I planned on patching all the holes and repainting the cowl.
I have never done extensive fiberglass work before, only minor repairs. I don’t need a quart of resin, so I saw that Z poxy offered a 12oz finishing resin. I love their epoxy so I bought some.
Not to get too detailed, but I put styrofoam in the first cut out and sanded it to shape, matching the cowl pretty good. I used a light fiberglass to make it easier to shape and applied it with the Z-Poxy. When I finished it looked beautiful, I just had to wait until it hardened.
After the recommended 6 hours I was able to sand the rough spots. Then I noticed the patched area was weak and flexed easily when I touched it. Next day I mixed more Zpoxy and applied heavier fiberglass inside the cowl to strengthen the patch. While I was at it I put small patches on the ¼ inch holes.