Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Crash & Rebuild
Reload this Page >

New firewall and Re-covering an

Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

New firewall and Re-covering an

Old 06-17-2011, 04:44 PM
  #1  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New firewall and Re-covering an

I've got a corsair from about five years ago when I had first started building kits. As the title says I'm going to be rebuilding the firewall, stabilizers, and re-cover the entire plane. The problem: the ailerons are hinged and still covered just fine. So how can I neatly re-cover the wing while the ailerons are still hinged? I would really like to avoid having to re-hinge the ailerons. I guess it's possible I could cut out a slot for the hinges and wrap the covering around the trailing edge that way. Then on the bottom I could just continue the covering from the wing onto the ailerons to make it a bit neater.. How does that sound?

Also, does anyone have any experience with doing a new firewall? There's a thick patch of old glue on the around the outside walls so I'm thinking I'm going to have to just saw about a quarter inch off and then make the firewall that much thicker, yeah?
Old 06-17-2011, 08:15 PM
  #2  
RC MANIAC119
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: muskegon, MI
Posts: 941
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Dude.........you should really post some pictures of the trouble area, so we can help out!!!

Take pictures...lots of pictures.........
Old 06-18-2011, 09:17 AM
  #3  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Ask and you shall receive!





Old 06-18-2011, 04:08 PM
  #4  
RC MANIAC119
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: muskegon, MI
Posts: 941
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Very Nice Pics.....now I can see what you're talking about!!!

Firewall first.....It looks like the old firewall busted clean off. I would clean off as much old epoxy as you can, install some tri-stock and a new piece of 1/4 ply.

Ailerons.......just go ahead and cover the entire wing, but DO NOT slash off the hinges. Monocote the entire wing from leading edge to trailing edge....just make sure you bend the aileron down as far as it can go while you're shrinking in the hinge line!!!

Should be an easy re-build!! GOOD LUCK!!!
Old 06-18-2011, 04:42 PM
  #5  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Today I took a dremel to the front end and cut about an 1/8" off. Yes, the firewall busted clean off because of lack of surface area for the glue. So this time I will re-enforce the walls. However one problem, I don't have the instructions anymore and have no idea how/where to mount the engine onto the firewall.
Old 06-18-2011, 05:06 PM
  #6  
RC MANIAC119
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: muskegon, MI
Posts: 941
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an


ORIGINAL: trab1925

Today I took a dremel to the front end and cut about an 1/8'' off. Yes, the firewall busted clean off because of lack of surface area for the glue. So this time I will re-enforce the walls. However one problem, I don't have the instructions anymore and have no idea how/where to mount the engine onto the firewall.
That's why I told you to use tri-stock....gives you more glue surface!!

You don't need instructions for this repair. Mount the engine close to the thrust line which in this case looks like it's going to be center of your firewall...AND NO DOWN THRUST!!!

Good luck
Old 06-19-2011, 05:33 PM
  #7  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

OK, thanks! why do you say no down thrust? I'm not sure I understand why you mentioned that.
Old 06-19-2011, 06:11 PM
  #8  
RC MANIAC119
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: muskegon, MI
Posts: 941
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Because a lot of the Old Timers will tell you that every plane needs down thrust to fly right. This comes from back in the free Flight days...it's an outdated idea. Just like tons of Dihedral. Just like....you have to use a flat bottom trainer to learn how to fly!!!!

Not necessary!!!!!.

Remember this also...that Corsair has a round cowl, so your true thrust line is the center of your round cowl.
Old 06-20-2011, 08:28 AM
  #9  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Ahh, interesting I've never really heard of that. Unfortunately that cowl is long gone and I'm probably not going to be buying another one for $20. Thank you so much for all your help.
Old 06-20-2011, 12:04 PM
  #10  
RC MANIAC119
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: muskegon, MI
Posts: 941
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

No need to buy one!!! You can use a plastic soda bottle.....it looks like a 2 liter bottle will fit just perfect. If you need a bigger one,
Walmart sells their pop in several diffent sizes, all the way up to a gallon.....and they're all plastic and round!!!

Paint it blue...BINGO, you have Corsair Cowl!!!!
Old 06-20-2011, 04:32 PM
  #11  
N1EDM
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brockton, MA
Posts: 4,264
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

I think that it'd be more fun if they sold beer in those 2-litre containers.... more fun to do a cowl that way

Bob
Old 06-23-2011, 05:45 PM
  #12  
BUDMAN27
 
BUDMAN27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Galveston, TX
Posts: 1,591
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

If you got the money Budwieser has the time my friend.
Old 06-23-2011, 10:17 PM
  #13  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

I brew my own beer! No need for a crappy 2 liter beer in a plastic bottle!
Old 07-01-2011, 08:07 PM
  #14  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Alright, so I'm doing the horizontal and vertical stabilizers. How long should the elevators be? I'm using a non-programmable transmitter so I have to build the elevators correctly so that the airplane isn't over controlled.
Old 07-02-2011, 03:59 PM
  #15  
flynte
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 352
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

It's not necessarily in how big you build the elevators to control throws. The throws you set up in linkages. See if you can dig up pics of a Corsair and kinda scale off what you see as to the proportions of fin to elevator, I haven't looked at any so I not sure at time of writing this if they are counter balanced elevators or not, but something to take notice of.

flynte

Old 07-03-2011, 12:09 AM
  #16  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Good point flynte, thanks.
Old 07-12-2011, 11:55 PM
  #17  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

And here it is now...





Hope to be in the air by next week!
Old 07-13-2011, 12:35 AM
  #18  
JRgraham
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 457
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Looking great!

Hey if that firewall is glued to the face of the fuse, you may concider wraping a 1 inch light glass cloth around the entire firewall and fuse for strength. Firewalls get their strength from the fuse wrapping around it.

Just a thought..
Old 07-13-2011, 12:44 AM
  #19  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

That is a good suggestion, however I'm willing to risk it. I think I've got plenty of surface area this time.
Old 07-23-2011, 02:41 PM
  #20  
trab1925
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New firewall and Re-covering an

Just got to program the radio and I'll be in the air this week!






Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.