Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Crash & Rebuild
Reload this Page >

First Mid-Air

Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

First Mid-Air

Old 07-24-2005, 06:50 PM
Lucky Dog
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Mid-Air

At our clubs Warbird Fly-In yesterday I witnessed my first mid-air (I've been flying for 10 years). Unfortunately, it corresponded with "MY" first mid-air.

The smaller Stearman and my .90 Eindecker tried to occupy the same airspace. Mid-air impact tore the right wing off the Eindecker, and busted up good the Stearman. Both of us were fooled by the dissimilar sizes into thinking they were a lot further apart. We both looked at each other and pretty much said "How'd that happen? I was cool with it, and so was he. Just one of those things....

Very scale looking to boot. In the Stearman pic you can see the Eindecker in the background. He trash canned his. I've given mine to a friend to have and rebuild if he so chooses. I'm gonna miss my Eindecker, great flying plane. Maybe the SR Batteries EIII is next.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35553.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	300992   Click image for larger version

Name:	To43219.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	300993   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va72705.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	50.5 KB
ID:	300994  
Old 07-24-2005, 07:32 PM
gumhead

Default RE: First Mid-Air

wow!

Sorry for the loss dude...
Old 07-26-2005, 11:40 AM
JPMacG
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've been flying for 5 years and had my first mid-air a few months ago. Curious thing was that one week later, the very next time I flew, I had my second mid-air.
Old 07-26-2005, 01:21 PM
50%plane
My Feedback: (5)