Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Draganfly Innovations Products
Reload this Page >

Will a Polyester Film Capacitor Work for Motor?

Notices
Draganfly Innovations Products Discuss all the Draganfly Innovations Products in this forum

Will a Polyester Film Capacitor Work for Motor?

Old 04-18-2007, 12:47 PM
  #1  
XStroX
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Will a Polyester Film Capacitor Work for Motor?

Hi All,

I cracked a motor capacitor and went to radio shack to buy a .01uF capacitor but they didn't have one that looked the same in that size. I bought one that was a .01uF but it is a Polyester Film Capacitor. It is a green rectangle instead of a yellow oval. Is that going to matter? Thanks

Stro
Old 04-22-2007, 09:45 PM
  #2  
BB_DF
Senior Member
 
BB_DF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Eagle, ID
Posts: 273
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Will a Polyester Film Capacitor Work for Motor?

Hey Stro,
There are really only two things you have to consider with a capacitor, besides the capacitance. They are voltage rating and polarity. By definition, capactors don't carry any current. I'm sure it can handle 12 volts, but check the specs for good measure. I don't think the polyester film has a polarity, but electrolytics and tantalums have a little "+" sign near one lead and they'll pop if you get them backwards. Otherwise, I'd think you could hardly do any damage by giving it a try.

Cheers,
Bruce
Old 04-23-2007, 10:12 AM
  #3  
XStroX
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Will a Polyester Film Capacitor Work for Motor?

Thanks Bruce,
I noticed when installing it that it didn't have a polarity and wondered if that was the difference. It is rated for 30 volts and so far I haven't had a problem with it. I'm wondering if the intermittent drop outs I was experiencing before were due to that old capacitor being cracked because since replacing it, it hadn't happened once.

Stro

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.