Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Changing Battery Connectors, need some guidance please!

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Changing Battery Connectors, need some guidance please!

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2014, 03:43 PM
CastorTroy2150
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing Battery Connectors, need some guidance please!

I am not new to flying or electric flight, but I am new to changing connectors. Up till this point most my electric models have had stock batteries or batteriea with the same connectors. Bought a 50mm Viper EDF and the power connector is a JST two pin style. The batteries I ordered are Rhino 11.1v 40c 1050maH and have an XT50 connector or something. I've seen videos on people cutting off connectors and soldering on JST( or other connectors), but have one concern. The pre wired JST connectors have a wire gauge that is much smaller than the leads coming from the batteries I purchased. Isn't it kinda bad to shrink the gauge of the wire that much?

Also, on a side note, the stock batteries are 11.1v 3s 25c 850maH, how much higher of a ,"C" rate can I go without having an issue? For example, is a 35-40c battery going to be an issue? I thought not as my research seems to conclude that the motor will only draw as much as it needs anyway, and the C rating won't effect anything negatively. There is just so many different opinions it is hard to weed through the junk.....thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image1(1).JPG
Views:	55
Size:	88.2 KB
ID:	2040353   Click image for larger version

Name:	image2(1).JPG
Views:	59
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	2040354  

Last edited by CastorTroy2150; 10-14-2014 at 03:51 PM.
Old 10-14-2014, 06:03 PM
CastorTroy2150
My Feedback: (10)