Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Which Li-Po's would replace my NiCad's?

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Which Li-Po's would replace my NiCad's?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2005, 12:24 PM
Wizard61
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which Li-Po's would replace my NiCad's?

I am hoping you can help me, I am new to electrics and have just recently been flying a GP Super Sportsster EP (the larger red one). The plane is OK in its stock set-up but the weight of the 550 motor/gearbox and the 7 cell 8.4V 2100 mAh pack make the plane nose heavy to the point that I have to add weight to the tail to obtain the correct CG. I can't move the battery back any more or it will interfear with the operation of the servos.

Can the stock pack of Ni cad's be replaced with Li-Po's for that motor? What else would I have to replace, i.e., speed controller etc? My hope is to lower the overall weight of the plane and possibly increase it's performance(slightly) and duration with out having to replace the motor and gearbox.

Any input or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

James Andrews
Old 03-06-2005, 03:28 AM
jooNorway

Default RE: Which Li-Po's would replace my NiCad's?

If you replace with 2S LiPo you will loose some pounch in the motor due to the lower voltage compared to 7 NiCd`s. No need to replace controller if it has proper cutoff for LiPo`s, but not good for your hope for better performance...

If you step up to 3S LiPo there is a chance you will reduce lifetime of the motor... And you sure will nead to find a matching prop (smaller!!). The current consumption will increase, maybe forcing you to change the regulator. Also check if the esc has the proper cutoff abilities.