Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Old 03-08-2005, 09:29 PM
  #1  
drumbum
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
drumbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 1,834
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

I am A hardcore thunder power user. i have 3 1350s and 6 2100s .. but ran across dymond in fly rc. they are supposed to be 10c packs has anyone tried them?

reason for asking i want to try a 90 size aircraft and cant bite $359 for the 5s TPs tought this might be an alternative what do you think (PEOPLE THAT HAVE TRIED NOT CLOSED MINDED 1 BRAND BIASED POSTS PLEASE)

here is the link to their LiPO list
http://www.rc-dymond.com/order_batteries_lipol.htm
Old 03-08-2005, 10:03 PM
  #2  
A10FLYR
My Feedback: (1)
 
A10FLYR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Littleton, CO,
Posts: 1,639
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Hhhhhmmmm........I was wondering the same thing. Price to good to be true! Hope someone answers this.......
Old 03-12-2005, 10:20 AM
  #3  
drumbum
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
drumbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 1,834
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

guess no one has.. i will have to try one to see what i think them. BEFORE i buy a lot
Old 03-15-2005, 05:50 PM
  #4  
pikeman401
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alexandria, MN
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

I have four of them. Two 1500 3S and two 2000 2S. Just getting in to this so have not used them yet. Still got snow on the ground in MN. I'm not sure where I got the idea but I think they are made by Kokam.
Old 03-28-2005, 10:34 PM
  #5  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Read these post before you buy
Milton

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ghlight=Milton
Old 03-28-2005, 10:40 PM
  #6  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

I bought some and tested them with CBA and at 6C the bottom fell out.
The best bang for your buck right now are the Polyquest, The larger size.
But they only have packs up to 4S
Milton
Old 03-28-2005, 10:50 PM
  #7  
drumbum
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
drumbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 1,834
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

I the thread they are talking about on this thread i cant find.. in first post they are talking about Miltons experience.. Im assuming that is you ? where is that thread?
Old 03-28-2005, 10:53 PM
  #8  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Sorry
See if I can find the right one
Old 03-28-2005, 10:56 PM
  #9  
drumbum
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
drumbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 1,834
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

ORIGINAL: Milton

I bought some and tested them with CBA and at 6C the bottom fell out.
The best bang for your buck right now are the Polyquest, The larger size.
But they only have packs up to 4S
Milton

That is one thing i was wondering .. I have a GEN 1 set of TP2100s and the new 10c 2100s ... when i swap out the packs to the new 10c packs its like i put a bigger motor on the plane. It is like that everytime

it is especially noticable when i run 2 gen 1s in 3s2p config and swap to the new in same config.

if this make any sense to you
Old 03-28-2005, 10:57 PM
  #10  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

That is the right thread, I got to it with a search of my name, becouse of that anything with my name comes up red. Just read the whole thread.
Milton
Old 03-28-2005, 11:01 PM
  #11  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Sure it makes sense, The higher the C rate the higher the voltage will hold under the same amp draw,
The higher the volage makes for more power
Milton
Old 03-28-2005, 11:05 PM
  #12  
drumbum
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
drumbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 1,834
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

this is what i get first post. they are talking about another post where is that. I read that whole thread

Dymond 10C Lipos - Current Status?
Has anybody talked to Helmut about the apparent problems with these packs?

I have seen Miltons post indicating his experience with these smaller packs was poor, to say the least.

Any update on the larger packs? Are they just as bad?

Has anybody used these new packs and been happy with their performance?

Will Dymond take these packs back for a refund? ie Do they acknowledge the problem?

Dymond has an Ad in the Model Airplane News April issue advertising 10C Lipos for $35. So they are still offering them as of now.
Old 03-28-2005, 11:07 PM
  #13  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Hold on I will find it
Milton
Old 03-28-2005, 11:10 PM
  #14  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Here

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ghlight=Milton
Old 03-28-2005, 11:39 PM
  #15  
drumbum
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
drumbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 1,834
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

guess il stay with my $80 a piece TPs. Im happy with them.. on one set im reaching the 500 charge limit. I will see how it deteriorates.. (the old Gen 1 packs) they are still going fine though
Old 05-20-2005, 06:35 PM
  #16  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

Sorry to dig up an old post.....anyone else try these Dymond Lipos??? or anyone from this thread have anymore info???


Just curious.... there prices are too good to be true and we all know that if it seems too good to be true........it is!
Old 05-20-2005, 06:37 PM
  #17  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

You said it, To good to be true
Milton
Old 05-20-2005, 08:19 PM
  #18  
drumbum
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
drumbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 1,834
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Has anyone tried dymond LiPos??

well i was considering but i decided to stay with my reliable Thunder powers... even though i have wore 4 packs out in a years time. i got roughly 250 flights per pack.. i thought they said 500 flights per pack . the last one i have bought then is going south now... the 2 new ones i have are like new motors on the plane compared to the old one that is still going. out of the 4 worn out 2 are GEN 2 and 2 are gen. 3.. still I think TP has the best MaH per weight than any other packs at higher C rating

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.