Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Did I Ruin My LiPoly Battery Pack?

Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Did I Ruin My LiPoly Battery Pack?

Old 05-22-2005, 08:03 PM
rrengineer
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Did I Ruin My LiPoly Battery Pack?

O.K., so I,m new to this electric LiPoly thing. I have been flying models since 1965, but wanted to try micro electric. I bought a Diddle bug kit and am using a Berg Rx, Pixie controller and Etec 2 cell 250mA pack. I also bought an Apache 2030 charger for the LiPoly cells. I tried to charge the pack for the first time off my 12V car battery (is that dumb?). The green power light came on and the LED indicator to show a 2 cell pack came on (red), but no other LED light. A red LED to indicate charging was supposed to come until the battery was charged and then a green LED to show done charging. The red LED did not light up so I just waited until I thought the green LED was supposed to come on. It never did either. I left it on the charger for over 2 hours. Now the battery pack seems to be compltely dead. Now when I connect the charger to a 12V, 1000 mA wall supply (normally used for my wireless router) the green power indicator comes on and the red one to indicate a 2cell pack, but now the CHG/ERR red LED blinks on and off like the connections are incorrect. All connections are correct as far as I can tell. Is it the batteries or the charger?
Old 05-23-2005, 03:51 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: Did I Ruin My LiPoly Battery Pack?