Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Lipo swelling on discharge

Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Lipo swelling on discharge

Old 05-30-2005, 05:06 PM
rcAirTycoon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lipo swelling on discharge

Hey all.

I'm new to electric flight and have a SIG Kadet EP42 that I have powered with a Thunder Power 1320 mAh 11.1 volt lipo.

I don't have a lipo cutoff set up yet so the first time I flew it I only had it up around five minutes to prevent over-discharge. When it got down I checked the battery and noticed it was hot and one cell was swelling... The swelling went down and I was able to charge it back to full capacity with my GP Triton with no heat or swelling. I've flown it two times since and both times the same cell swells and the battery gets hot. I checked voltage upon landing and the last time the battery was still reading 11.1 volts (this was after around 5 minutes of flight). I've decided to stop flying it until I get some answers.

Anybody have any idea why this battery might be behaving this way?

J
Old 05-30-2005, 05:43 PM
Fly-n-3D

Default RE: Lipo swelling on discharge

You might have damanged the battery.
Old 05-30-2005, 06:21 PM
exeter_acres
My Feedback: (2)

what setup are you using? motor? prop? etc?

Do you use a watt meter (if not...buy one..they are worth it) to measure the amps/watts? What sort of current are you pulling?
Old 05-30-2005, 10:46 PM
rcAirTycoon

it's the SIG super 400 motor and a 7 x 5 electric prop... I don't have a watt meter--but it sounds like I should go ahead and get one. I've looked around and could only find the Astro Flight Whatt Meter. Is that the one you were thinking of?

J
Old 05-31-2005, 01:05 AM
VULTCH