Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Are these two interchangable???

Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Are these two interchangable???

Old 11-21-2005, 12:56 AM
Synapse

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are these two interchangable???

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to Li-po batteries, so I'm looking for some help. I just ordered a GP FlatOut along with all the hardware needed to get in the air MINUS the battery. That is because the company I ordered it from couldn't ship the battery using any other method than ground service due to its flammable nature. I gotta have that joker before next weekend, so I'm going to try my LHS or another dealer for a battery that will work. Anyway, the battery that Great Planes recommends is one of their own with the following specs:
- Great Planes GPMP0805
- 3 cells
- 640mAh
- 11.1v
- 15C discharge rate (9.6A)
- 54g
- Charging lead with SafeCharge circuit to limit voltage to 4.2v/cell

The battery pack I am thinking of using instead has the following specs (btw, this pack may be discountinued... I'm not sure):
- Thunder Power TP730
- 3 cells
- 730mAh
- 11.1v
- 13C continuous (9.49A), 20C burst (14.6A)
- 50g
- No charging lead or safety circuit to balance cells

Ok, so for the most part the Thunder Power seems like a sure fire winner out of the two, but I don't know much about cell balancing. Is that an absolute "must have"? If so, the thunder power is out. I'm going to be charging this using a Great Planes Triton... if that helps at all.

Thanks for any help you guys can give me!

-Lee
Old 11-21-2005, 09:05 AM
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)

Default RE: Are these two interchangable???