Notices
E-Flite Helicopters Discuss the line of E-Flite mini and micro helis including the Blade CP, CP Pro, Blade CX, etc

cx3 main shaft wobble

Old 02-28-2011, 05:21 AM
kaiser01

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default cx3 main shaft wobble

i'm a complete heli noob and won a cx3 in a raffle this weekend.

i still haven't gotten it trimmed correctly and now i took a spill, broke a blade (replaced) and broke the landing gear (also replaced), now the main shaft has a slight wobble.
it's still flies/hovers but i need to fix it.

so anyone replace the main shaft on a cx2 or 3 before? how much of a pain is it?

btw, i tried the "training gear" but the heli flies/hovers much better with out it. so i decided not to use it.

Old 02-28-2011, 07:33 PM
gi1mo2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: cx3 main shaft wobble

Have a look at this video (recently posted in another thread)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGUTAwItRAM
Old 03-01-2011, 06:25 AM
kaiser01

thanks, good vid.

i have a microheli inner shaft and rotor head on the way, along with a mh alloy swashplate, unbreakable skids and some other goodies.
Old 03-01-2011, 08:22 AM
Mack66

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a CX2, but haven't flown it in more than a year. I've progressed to .50 Nitro since then.

If you bent the lower shaft, chances are you bent the inner (upper), so replace them both. Otherwise the poor little thing will shake itself apart and you'll be riding a bucking bronco.

As I recall, the only painful thing about maintenance on these little guys is that it is so tiny. Make sure you've got the right tools. I bought a set of e-Flight screwdrivers that have all the sizes you need. If you're age challenged like me, then you will want to make sure you've got a magnifier/hood handy and lots of strong light so you can see what you're doing. By the way those tools are useful even on the big helis.