Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > E-Flite Helicopters
Reload this Page >

Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

Notices
E-Flite Helicopters Discuss the line of E-Flite mini and micro helis including the Blade CP, CP Pro, Blade CX, etc

Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

Old 02-17-2006, 07:01 PM
  #26  
reiffron
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: baton rouge, LA
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

any one have the idle up settings yet?
Old 02-18-2006, 06:33 AM
  #27  
rc51boss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

If I use my 9C with a sythensized module do I need to change the crystal in the RX to a futaba brand?
Old 02-18-2006, 01:09 PM
  #28  
ptgarcia
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
ptgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 2,072
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

ORIGINAL: rc51boss

If I use my 9C with a sythensized module do I need to change the crystal in the RX to a futaba brand?
I don't know for certain but I don't think so. Any negative shift single conversion crystal should work, and thats what's in there now.
Old 02-18-2006, 02:02 PM
  #29  
bdavison
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 3,360
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

Ok guys.....Here is the total set-up that I am using for my BladeCP. So far it works perfect. If you have any problems, try tweaking the pitch curves first. I have included the Idle-up's in there now too...so you can start flying inverted.


First set it for PPM. NOT PCM

Pick swashplate type SR-3
Goto SWASH AFR
make ailerons -50%
make elevator +58%
make pitch +64%

Goto END POINTS

make throttle 43/100

Goto REVERSE
reverse the ailerons, and the throttle

Goto PIT-CV/NOR
Point 1 46.0%
Point 2 52.5%
Point 3 57.5%
Point 4 63.5%
Point 5 75.0%

Goto PIT-CV/IDL1
22%
39.0%
57.5%
67.5%
78.5%

Goto TH-CV/NOR
Point 1 0%
Point 2 25.0%
Point 3 50.0%
Point 4 75.0%
Point 5 100.0%

Goto TH-CV/IDL1

Point 1 100%
Point 2 50%
Point 3 0%
Point 4 50%
Point 5 100%




Goto REVO./NOR
Mix = ON
Point 1 -20%
Point 2 -10%
Point 3 0%
Point 4 +10%
Point 5 +20%

Goto the advanced menu

Goto HOV-THR
MIX = ON
Turn the VR(c) knob till it reads
RATE=0% (-71%)

Goto HOV-PIT
MIX = ON
Turn the VR(a) knob till it reads
RATE = 0% (+10%)
Old 02-18-2006, 02:23 PM
  #30  
reiffron
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: baton rouge, LA
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

rc51boss the stock crystal works fine with the 9c
Old 02-18-2006, 02:58 PM
  #31  
reiffron
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: baton rouge, LA
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

cant find idle1 in menu how do i get there
Old 02-18-2006, 06:51 PM
  #32  
bdavison
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 3,360
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

Press "MENU" until it opens up the settings menu.
When the Settings menu opens up, press "MENU" again. This will take you to the "Advanced" Menu.



Look for the Pitch Curve option

Enter it

Then move the cursor over the "NORM" selection, and using the scroll wheel, turn until it says IDL1.

Then move the cursor to the individual settings for the 5 points, and set as shown.

There will also be a IDL2 setting. I dont use IDL2 on my Blade(doesnt need it), but you could program that one too.
I think the stock configuration puts the Idle-up switch on Switch G.
When the switch is towards the back of the radio...that would be Normal flight mode
Flip it one position towards the front of the radio...would be IDLE 1
Flip it one more.....would be IDLE 2

Old 02-21-2006, 06:25 PM
  #33  
wingswest
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
wingswest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

Great settings. Flew today with these and I was amazed. I wasn't to sure about them becuase they were quite different from my setup but I'm sticking with these. The Idle-Up settings work very good also. Overall the best setting I have used. Thanks for the settings, Cameron
Old 04-08-2006, 04:52 PM
  #34  
electron
My Feedback: (1)
 
electron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Inola, OK
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

WOW this is so good info as I am a blade CP flyer with a 9C handy, but the thing I really need to know is will these settings work for the T-Rex that I just purchased as well ? The T-rex is a 450X so it has a HDE ccpm swash... I have been messing with it but havent figured out yet how to get the 9C programming to work right with the Trex I have been using the SWH1 swash setting but can't get the curves to work at all..

Thanks in advance for any info you can give me on this...........
Old 04-08-2006, 05:17 PM
  #35  
smallplanes
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Timmonsville, SC
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

CDE version is eccpm(SR3 swash on 9c) and HDE version is mccpm(sw1 i think on 9c) and the settings are different.

smallplanes
Old 04-08-2006, 06:18 PM
  #36  
electron
My Feedback: (1)
 
electron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Inola, OK
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

Thanks I will give that a try this is driving me nuts.... I have never had to setup up a radio for a heli as both my honeybee and blade cp were ready to fly kits......

I was hoping someone had a link with the 9C settings like I found for the blade cp with 9C on this thread that is awesome.....


Electron
Old 04-22-2006, 12:58 AM
  #37  
sscherin
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
sscherin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

will these settings work with a 7C and a Honeybee?
Old 04-22-2006, 07:13 PM
  #38  
smallplanes
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Timmonsville, SC
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

I think some of the setting may work but you will have to modify the pitch and throttle curves a bit. You need a micro pitch gauge and a little time.

Old 04-23-2006, 10:08 PM
  #39  
Skiddz
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

hehe, yep.. I know what I want to do, but just haven't figured out the radio enough to mke it do it. (9CHP in my case) throttle and pitch curves? Easy to figure out. Idle ups? Easy. Revo mix? confusing... Still RTMF-ing as this is my 1st computer radio...
Old 05-02-2006, 05:34 PM
  #40  
john68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burgettstown, PA
Posts: 253
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

I can't find the idle up!?

I was flying, flipping all kinds of switches, but nothing that made it go into idle up. Am I missing something? This is my first computer radio, and after entering bdavidsons settings, I have been having a blast! Thank you !!! THANK YOU!!!

I just can't find idle up, and can't figure out how to turn it on.

Minor technicality, I am sure...

thanks!!!

John
Old 05-02-2006, 06:26 PM
  #41  
rsrogers
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
rsrogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clyde, NC
Posts: 563
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

John,
I'm using the CAP (airplane version) but my Normal, Idle up 1 & 2 is on switch G & Idle 3 is on H. I think were only concerned with Idle 1 here. This may be different if you have the heli version, I'm not sure. If you've flipped all of them with no luck go to your throttle curve in the Advanced menu. On the second line from the top of the screen it should look as so NORM (NORM). Highlight the NORM using the up/down keys then with the thumbwheel rotate till IDL 1 comes up. Under that MIX> will appear and beside that one of the following - INH OFF or ON. If INH is there push the down arrow until the INH is highlighted. Rotate thumb wheel and either OFF or ON will appear depending on the position of the switch. Once you have the OFF or ON you have the Idle up function activated. Note that there are 3 Idle up's so make sure when you do the programing that everything is on the same Idle up in pitch & throttle curves & that the proper idle up is activated. In other words if everything is programed in IDL1 & you activate IDL2 that has no programming in it OUCH if you flip to Idle2! While your still on that screen flip the switches till you see which one turns it on & off which will be evident by watching where the INH OFF & ON was located on the screen which should now only be OFF or ON. Also when the mix is on the red power light should flash indicating there is a mix on.

I hope I havent confused you since your new to Computer. Tx's & Good Luck

Steve
Old 05-02-2006, 08:39 PM
  #42  
john68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burgettstown, PA
Posts: 253
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

AHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

THAT'S IT!!!!


Now, I feel much better! I like have the program set up so that there is no power tot he blades at midstick, it is a lot safer than having them spin 100% all the time.

THanks! MANY MANY THANKS!!!!

woohoo!

btw, I have the airwolf body on mine, and I am going to get the retracts for it now. I put a full sized servo on CH. 5, on the 4n1 and now have it operating on my landing gear switch. I am amazed at how useful this radio is. It's the best toy I ever bought. I am SO PUMPED!

Thanks again!
John
Old 05-03-2006, 01:48 AM
  #43  
john68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burgettstown, PA
Posts: 253
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

quick question...

on the 4n1, there is a slot marked "B." I put an S9101 servo in this slot, and was operating it with switch "C." can I use this slot to power lights for the helicopter? I am trying to google some micro heli lighting for it right now. I am not sure how it works, but if the three wires are 2 power wires and one common ground, then I could have midswitch-lights off, switch up-nav. lights on, switch down-nav. and landing(spot) lights on.

Could this be done? SHOULD this be done? Am I kooky? (wait, don't answer the last one!)

I am floored by how many doors this opens for me. It's like a whole new helicopter now!
Old 05-04-2006, 02:31 PM
  #44  
BillB
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rangeley, ME
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

John68, If you were able to run a servo off of that port the wires are: ground (or negative dc voltage), positive dc voltage, and a signal wire that feeds a variable width pulse to the servo. If you want to run lights I would buy one of the aftermarket controllers that will control lights from a servo connection, or setup a small servo with a microswitch.
Old 05-05-2006, 12:11 AM
  #45  
john68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burgettstown, PA
Posts: 253
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

huh...

Where do you get a lighting controller, adn helicopter lights?

Thanks for the answers, I appreciate it!

John
Old 05-07-2006, 09:32 PM
  #46  
BillB
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rangeley, ME
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

Try http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...p?&I=LXJKG6&P=
http://www.revolutionmodels.co.uk/ac...Maxxlites.html
or do a Google search for RAM lighting.
Old 05-08-2006, 12:52 AM
  #47  
Skiddz
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

I've finally tamed my CP/9CHP setup. Wow, what a difference a decent radio makes. Still messing with throttle/pitch curves and some Revo mix, but it works great. It's like an entirely different helicopter now. Can't wait to get it really dialed in and get some FFF in...
Old 05-08-2006, 01:14 AM
  #48  
climo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lakewood, CA
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C


ORIGINAL: motorsports


ORIGINAL: rsrogers

Could someone post a direct link to the thread zooland is talking about. Cant seem to find it & would like to set my 9C up as well for my Blade.

Dosent it take a single conversion Rx. crystal?
Yes, I used a single conversion Futaba Rx Xtal in mine and it seems to work. The following is a setup I got from the page the other guy was talking about, I think. I can no way take any credit for the programming. Just can't remember who the guy was. I'm gonna have to go back later and thank him. However the setup seems to work so far. I'm new at this and just skidding and hopping around and trying to get sometype of control on this little beast. Ha! Ha! Anywho, here is the setup:

First set it for PPM. NOT PCM

Pick swashplate type SR-3
Goto SWASH AFR
make ailerons -50%
make elevator +58%
make pitch +64%

Goto END POINTS

make throttle 43/100

Goto REVERSE
reverse the ailerons, and the throttle

Goto PIT-CV/NOR
Point 1 46.0%
Point 2 52.5%
Point 3 57.5%
Point 4 63.5%
Point 5 75.0%


Goto TH-CV/NOR
Point 1 0%
Point 2 25.0%
Point 3 50.0%
Point 4 75.0%
Point 5 100.0%

Goto REVO./NOR
Mix = ON
Point 1 -20%
Point 2 -10%
Point 3 0%
Point 4 +10%
Point 5 +20%

Goto the advanced menu

Goto HOV-THR
MIX = ON
Turn the VR(c) knob till it reads
RATE=0% (-71%)

Goto HOV-PIT
MIX = ON
Turn the VR(a) knob till it reads
RATE = 0% (+10%)

This is just the set-ups for normal mode.


Good luck on your blade......
Can you post you're blade setup? What motor you use, still using the 4-1, single tail motor, lipos, etc? thanks
Old 09-08-2006, 06:07 PM
  #49  
lwatson
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
lwatson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 742
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

I had a couple questions on the settings bdavision recommends (I am setting up a CP Pro, don't know if that makes a difference)

1) Why is throttle at 43 percent of end point. Will the receiver respond correctly to that? It seems like you will loose the high end.

2) In idle up you have the throttle curve set to zero at half throttle. This I assume will totally turn off the blades. Eflight sets the idle up to 50% throttle so you trasition at a hover. How do you do the transition? Perhaps just start in idle up mode? Also, the CCPM helis in my symulator always seem to be set up to have some head speed at 50% throttle. Am I miss reading this?

3) Also eflight has set up a knob to alter the throttle curves in flight. Does anyone actually do this? Or was this just a way to have some adjustment on the transmitter.
Old 09-20-2006, 07:38 AM
  #50  
WilsonFlyer
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 539
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting Blade CP to use Futaba 9C

Anybody put their Blade on a 9Z or a 14MZ? I'd love to put it on my 14MZ but since I've always been an airplane guy, I know absolutely nothing about setting this heli up on my 14. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Good questions lwatson. I'm doing a Blade Pro too so I'm very interested in the answers to your questions too.

Thanks,
bob

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.