Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes
Reload this Page >

Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Notices
Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Old 06-24-2005, 09:23 AM
  #51  
mestdaght
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ekeren, BELGIUM
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

wath is de stock propsize for this plane ?
i have a similar plane. Selfmade ryan EP from the GP plans with 120cm wingspan. i powered it with a
speed 600 7,2 2,3:1 olympyus beltdrive 12x8Apc and 8,4v 3300 pack. the speed 600 smoked up. it had to deal with 30Amps.
the other motor a mild 19T 540 motor pulled even more 55a at 7cells so not a good choise. A 8,4 speed600 race does the job but i would like to use some of my hotter motor.

Biggest problem is the large prop in combo with the 2.3 (3.0 would be better) but i cannot find the value's of the SS EP prop


TM
Old 06-24-2005, 09:48 AM
  #52  
bassmanh
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: fond du lac, WI
Posts: 801
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

mest,

the stock prop size is a 12x10 it seems to work Ok with the stock can motor but the plane could use more power as it is a little slow.
hope this helps.

bassman
Old 08-13-2005, 08:33 PM
  #53  
Malves
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Anyone tried Lipo with the S600GD setup? I am thinking on getting this plane with this setup, but would like to use lipo packs with it.
Old 08-19-2005, 10:31 PM
  #54  
rockafeller
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: conroe, TX
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Why is the S-600GD $55 bucks now? whats the deal? You guys payed a lot less.
Old 08-30-2005, 01:36 PM
  #55  
Moe142
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: sacramento, CA
Posts: 264
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

You can get the endo motor for $20! and the 600 gear box for $12-$13! I know tower has the gear box but does NOT have the Endo. I got mine at my local hobby shop here in Sacramento, CA. I have the endo motor and the 600 gear box with a 3:8-1 ratio and an 10 x 8 apc prop with a 7 cell 3600 Nmhi pack. But I plan to run a 3 cell lipo (4000Mah!)
My plane fly's great and pretty fast too!
Old 09-10-2005, 08:27 PM
  #56  
ayrobotech
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Millers Falls, MA
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

I purchased this new 600 motor system for my sportster. However, I'd like to continue using my original props (12x10) because i have a stack of them I bought with the plane. What is the gear ratio that would work best with these props??

Old 09-12-2005, 10:21 PM
  #57  
preich
Member
 
preich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , PA
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Where are you guys buying the GP3300 7 cell NiMH battery packs?
Old 11-20-2005, 09:42 PM
  #58  
Dick Smith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

I am interested in buying the Super Sportster EP and plan on upgrading the motor System as many suggest doing. I notice that everyone says use the S-600GD System. Can someone tell me what is the difference between the T-600GD System and the S-600GD System. And could you use the T-600GD System in this plane? Although I am an experienced flyer, this will be my first electric.
Old 11-21-2005, 10:07 AM
  #59  
ayrobotech
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Millers Falls, MA
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Howdy!
The S motor system has replacable brushes and I believe a little higher quality EPIC motor. The T motor does not have replacable brushes and is more of your basic motor.

Unfortunately, I have not had the experience with my SS and the S600 motor system that Guapoman did (original thread creator). His vidoes look nothing like my plane Mine is just putt-putting along and his flies like a super sporster should. So I don't know why my S600 doesn't perform like his, but just something I'm passing along. I use a 10x6 prop and it seems to work well, I haven't tried the 9x8 which comes with the kit, but that may give me the speed my plane is lacking.

For the money the SS is a GREAT value. I'm only into electrics and this plane is high quality. HOWEVER, I could not use the stock ESC for my plane. My plane only drew about 24 amps at WOT, but my ESC kept shutting off *ALL* power, including the servos. I got a new one from Great planes and that new one didn't work either. It should have been able to handle at least 30amps, but could not even handle 25 without overheating. I picked up a Castle Creations Peagsus-35 ESC as a replacement and haven't had any problems since.

Good luck!

David
Old 11-21-2005, 12:27 PM
  #60  
Dick Smith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

David,

Can I use Hitec HS-55 Economy Sub Micro Servos in the Super Sportster EP?

Dick
Old 11-21-2005, 12:29 PM
  #61  
ayrobotech
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Millers Falls, MA
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

I used Futaba S3101 servos. So if your Hitecs are the same physical size, then they will fit into the provided servo trays.

Old 11-21-2005, 01:17 PM
  #62  
preich
Member
 
preich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , PA
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

ORIGINAL: Dick Smith

David,

Can I use Hitec HS-55 Economy Sub Micro Servos in the Super Sportster EP?

Dick
I used HS-81s in mine. I had HS-55s in it, but didn't like the way the aileron servo was loaded up. The HS-81s are not much bigger or heaver but have over twice the torque. At 17.99 vs 16.49 I figured it was well worth it.

HS-55 ($16.49) HS-81 ($17.99)
Length = .89" Length = 1.17"
Width = .45" Width = .47"
Height = .94" Height = 1.16"
Weight = .27oz Weight = .58oz
Torque = 15.27 oz/in Torque = 36.10 oz/in

Weight penlty for HS81 vs HS55 in 3 servo installation is total .93oz.
Old 11-21-2005, 04:53 PM
  #63  
Dick Smith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Preich and David

Thanks for the advise. First experience with electrics. I have a lot to learn. Up until now I have vowed not to get involved with electrics. The Park Flyer type that looks like a rubber band model with RC control have left me cold. I wrecked my GP Super Sportster 40 that I have been flying for years this summer, and planed to repace it with another one, until I found out that they were discontinued. I loved that plane. This will also be my first experience with an ARF. I'm retired and have plenty of time to build and enjoy building. It keeps me busy during these long winter months until flying season rolls around again.

Dick
Old 11-29-2005, 10:33 AM
  #64  
denzil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: newnan, GA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

I noticed that several people are using 3300 mah packs in their Super Sportster. As these packs are heavier than the stock NICD pack and the plane is a little nose heavy with the stock pack I thought it would be better to use a different pack configuration to move more weight rearward. Has anyone tried a hump pack or other config with the 3300 mah packs. I was a little concerned about fitting it through the opening.

Thanks for any input.

Denzil
Old 12-08-2005, 02:14 PM
  #65  
Dick Smith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

I have been trying to find the GP - 3300 MAH, 7 cell, NiMH battery pack that is being recommended when using the S 600GD Motor. Can someone tell me where to find this item.

Dick
Old 12-08-2005, 02:25 PM
  #66  
ayrobotech
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Millers Falls, MA
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

I was also not able to find it. The Tower Hobby rep suggested that I build my own. Unfortunately I threw away the list of batteries that were high power that you could link together. But look at TowerHobbies.com

I recently purchased an Integy 3600 pack: http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLFW5&P=0

However, these are VERY HEAVY (although i have no scale, so I can't tell you how heavy). I haven't tried my sporster with one yet. I have a GP Ryan kit that I was going to build over the winter and was thinking about modifying the fuselage while building to handle these heavier packs.

David
Old 12-08-2005, 03:00 PM
  #67  
Digs9101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Copied from another thread...

Cheap battery packs at

http://www.unipros.com/cbpsite/main...0&cmd=&promoid=

has I nice pack builder on their site, and prices are reasonable.

I have also had good experience with Battle Packs

http://www.battlepack.com/index.asp

I got my 9 cell GP 3700 packs from them.
Old 12-18-2005, 11:17 AM
  #68  
denzil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: newnan, GA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Try Maxamps.com for 3300mah and 3700 mah packs. I'm flying a stock set up with GP3700 pack in hump configuration. Seems to balance the same as with stock pack even though it is 4 oz heavier due to being able to move weight rearward due shorter length. Haven't had a chance to test duration yet but should be much better than the 5 minutes I was getting with the stock packs.

Denzil
Old 01-12-2006, 03:36 PM
  #69  
marciron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: , MI
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Guapoman,
this in response to the following posting where you stated that the S-600GD power system could be purchased for $33.99 instead of the regular $37.99.
I realize that this posting is a couple years old but does the pricing somehow still stand. When I checked Towers web site yesterday the pricing was posted
as 54.95. Do you know of some other way to get the system for the price mentioned.
Thanks very much

Ron
Old 01-12-2006, 10:06 PM
  #70  
Dano101
My Feedback: (4)
 
Dano101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

I gave up on the Electric on my G.P. Super Sportster EP (no Power). I removed the cowl, built up the front end, added a servo, added a fuel tank and an OS .25LA. I picked it up from Tower's Scratch and dent for $52.00. Much cheaper than the a new moter and batt. What a fun, sweet, and super fast flying aircraft. Recommend this change over to anyone that is willing to fly nitro. [sm=sunsmiley.gif]
Old 01-14-2006, 02:49 PM
  #71  
Dick Smith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Ron,

I have found that it is much cheeper to buy the individual parts of the S-600GD power system than to buy it as advertised. I asked Tower about this same issue and they said that the sale was off of the entire system but individual parts were on sale if you bought it seperately. That to was about 6 months ago. Try it and see! Remember you should not need to buy another speed control because the speed control that comes with the Plane will work with the S-600GD system.

Dick
Old 01-14-2006, 10:40 PM
  #72  
ayrobotech
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Millers Falls, MA
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Just my 2 cents:

I disagree with the ESC statement. The ESC that Great Planes provides with the Super Sportster EP is *JUNK*. TWICE i had my ESC overheat to the point where it makes sizzle noises and the entire plane shut off, so not even the servos work. I've tried everything from moving the ESC to the back of the plane to putting designer air vents in the body to force air onto the ESC. I even called up GP and had them send me a new one and the new one did the same thing.

My solution was to buy a Castle Creations Peagus-35 ESC. I haven't had a problem since... So if you love this plane as much as I do, don't trust the ESC they give you, it is trash.

BTW, if you want to see a picture of my designer air vent:
http://www.cs.umass.edu/~davidk/supe...r/dcp_8988.jpg

Good luck!
David


Old 01-16-2006, 12:04 PM
  #73  
denzil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: newnan, GA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

I experienced a similar incident yesterday where I lost all power and crashed as a result. I was flying the S 600 GD sysytem using the 2.5:1 ratio with a 10x7 prop. I may have overloaded the system but I was not getting any increase in performance using the 9x8 prop at either 3:1 or 2.5:1 ratio. Lost power after about 5 minutes with a GP 3700 NiMh pack.

A couple of questions:

Is a 10x7 prop and 2.5 ratio too much for the stock speed control? My results indicate yes.
Should you use the stock motor mounting system with the S600? Does the stator ring hurt the performance of the S600 system?

Any suggestions on how to make the S600 GD sysetm perform better would be appreciated. It flew great as described above until the power shut down. Then it got ugly fast.

Thanks Denzil
Old 01-16-2006, 01:25 PM
  #74  
Dick Smith
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

For thoes of you who have had difficulties with the S-600GD system using the stock ESC, can you supply me with some more information. How long is each of your flights before you experience shut down? How many flights have you had with the stock ESC before you experienced difficulty? How long is each flight? I am not an experienced electric flier. The Super Sportster EP is my first experience with electrics. I use the GP 3300 Battery Pack - 2.5x1 gear ratio - 10 X 7 Prop - and have had 13 flights of about 4 minutes in length with no sign of the difficulties that some of you have experienced. At the end of each flight the battery pack is hot but I am told that a hot battery pack is normal after flights.

Dick

Dick
Old 01-16-2006, 10:01 PM
  #75  
ayrobotech
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Millers Falls, MA
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes Super Sportster EP with Modified Power System

Hey Denzel, sorry to hear about your crash. Your plane end up like this? http://www.cs.umass.edu/~davidk/supe...r/dcp_9015.jpg

Here is more info on the ESC. I've never actually flown it and had it shut down the ESC during flight. I ran it on the ground in a mock flight at about half power (which puts the motor under slightly more load). THANK GOD I DID. I'd say 3 out of 4 times, the plane would run for about 5 minutes and then just shut off completely. No servos, no motor. Just dead.

I flew it only once with the stock ESC. It flew for 3 minutes, came in for a landing, touched down and the plane went dead. I got very very lucky. I flew it with a 11x5 prop with the S600 motor system.

IT IS NOT THE BATTERY. I have three of the basic 2200ma batteries that they provide and I've tried different batteries and they all do the same thing. It was the ESC for sure.

The great mystery is that hooking up a watt meter to the plane shows that at WOT the plane is drawing 25 amps, which quickly drops down to about 22. So the ESC is supposed to handle 30 continuous, and it won't even do 22 continuous. So my opinion is that it is just junk, throw it away and get a CC Pegasus 35.

The plane itself is an awesome value, but to keep the costs down they throw in that junk ESC. :-P

David

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.