Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Calibrating an ESC with Transmitter.

Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Calibrating an ESC with Transmitter.

Old 02-04-2015, 04:52 PM
  #1  
Ed
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bemis, NM
Posts: 2,889
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Calibrating an ESC with Transmitter.

When calibrating a new ESC with a Transmitter, and going from Hi throttle to Low throttle after plugging in your Rx, is it necessary for the motor to be plugged in ? I also assume that the throttle trim should be set to neutral, or centered ?

Thanks

Ed
Old 02-05-2015, 05:07 AM
  #2  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

You want the throttle trim to be FULL down. If you have to reverse the throttle direction after the first bind, then be sure to rebind after changing it so that the fail safe will be "throttle off".
Old 02-05-2015, 12:48 PM
  #3  
Ed
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bemis, NM
Posts: 2,889
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you Sir, and no motor needs to be plugged in ?
Old 02-06-2015, 04:45 AM
  #4  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ed View Post
Thank you Sir, and no motor needs to be plugged in ?
I've never tried it without the motor being plugged in so can not answer this question. Why would you want to anyway, after all that is what you are using the ESC for and you need to know which way the motor is turning. If it is turning in the wrong direction, you need to interchange any two of the three leads between the ESC and the motor. It is best to have the prop off for initial setup in case it turns on wide open the first time you plug the ESC and battery together.
Old 03-28-2015, 12:03 PM
  #5  
ArcadeAir
Member
 
ArcadeAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Western New York
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have always had my motor plugged in when calibrating the esc... It is a good idea to remove the prop though.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.