Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

AXI Motor Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2005, 04:06 PM
rsrogers
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AXI Motor Question

Hey guys I'm new to electrics & just got my first one flying (foamy) and have a question concerning the AXI motors.

When I purchased my set-up I went soley on recomendation from the guy at the hobby shop. Now that this stuff has impressed me I want to know more!!

The motor I have is the AXI 2212/26 and my qusetion is how do you size (??) these things as in what size for what application.

Does the 22 , 12 , or 26 or all three have something to do with it?

For most this may be a simple question but please fill me in!!

Thanks,
Steve
Old 02-14-2005, 04:34 PM
BadSplice
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: AXI Motor Question

Im not real familliar with AXI, but as I understand it the 2212 is the size of the motor, maybe even the dimentions, and the 26 is how many windings in the coils. less windings =more power. more windings =more efficient
Old 02-14-2005, 04:56 PM
gwh

In your example of a AXI 2212/26, the 22 is the diameter of the Stator in mm, the 12 is the length of the stator in mm, the 26 is the windings. The lower the winding number the higher the Kv rating will be. Thus a 2212/24 has a higher Kv than a 2212/26 . The higher Kv motor is sometimes referred to as being a hotter motor or hotter wind.

Kv is the numbers of rpms per volt. For example a motor with a Kv of 1000 will spin 5,000 rpm on an input voltage of 5 volts (5v*1000rpm/v=5,000rpm).

A good start for sizing motor and plane is to use a rule of thumb of 80 watts/pound for a trainer, 100 watts/pound for a sport plane and 150 watts/pound for 3D.