Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Help me get my electric system operational

Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Help me get my electric system operational

Old 07-31-2007, 09:34 PM
  #1  
moreynj
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Avalon, NJ
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me get my electric system operational

I purchased a brushless motor, a ESC for brushless, have LIPO, etc. Doesnt work. Following instuctions on ESC, it should beep-beep first at full throttle, etc, etc to adjust. When hooked up to LIPO, does nothing. Power is going thru ESC to receiver ok. When I hook up the motor, it "pulses" but doesnt turn. The throttle on my radio has no effect on setup. LIPO is fully charged.

My hookup is as follows. LIPO - (deans plug) - ESC [red and black wires]
ESC [3 red wires] to motor [3 wires, red-yellow-purple]
ESC futaba plug to throttle input on receiver
Old 07-31-2007, 11:21 PM
  #2  
jdetray
Senior Member
 
jdetray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napoleon, OH
Posts: 1,617
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help me get my electric system operational

You won't hear any beeps unless the motor is connected. The ESC uses the motor as a "speaker" to produce the beeps. When testing, be sure to do it with the motor connected but no prop on the motor.

If your transmitter is a Futaba, try reversing the throttle channel.

Always turn on the transmitter before connecting the battery to the ESC.

Do the servos work?

If you want additional help, tell us exactly which equipment you are using, and hopefully someone will have specific suggestions.

- Jeff
Old 08-01-2007, 07:49 PM
  #3  
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,861
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help me get my electric system operational

Moreynj,

you may have to swap the motor esc wires around to find a combination that runs. I've had a couple of motors do the stuttering thing on me and that solved it.
WT
Old 08-01-2007, 08:39 PM
  #4  
jzrf6c
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 565
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help me get my electric system operational

Most of the time I've found the cause of "motor stuttering" to be a bad connection on one of three motor windings. Sometimes youd may not have good clean connectors and moving the plugs around seems to make things work. What actually happened was. most likely, was the you scraped the connector and then had a good connection.
Old 08-02-2007, 08:01 AM
  #5  
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,861
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help me get my electric system operational

Psosible, but not likely. I'm very fussy about my Power Pole connectors.
WT
Old 08-02-2007, 08:04 AM
  #6  
moreynj
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Avalon, NJ
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help me get my electric system operational

Got the motor running. AOK now.
Old 08-02-2007, 10:32 AM
  #7  
jdetray
Senior Member
 
jdetray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napoleon, OH
Posts: 1,617
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help me get my electric system operational


ORIGINAL: moreynj
Got the motor running. AOK now.
Congratulations! What was the problem?

- Jeff

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.