Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Switch in the Battery leads of my ESC

Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Switch in the Battery leads of my ESC

Old 09-17-2007, 08:57 AM
  #1  
artgillette
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Switch in the Battery leads of my ESC

I have converted to the Brushless Motor and got a Electrifly Silver Series ESC w/BEC. Can I put a switch in the positive Battery lead? I want to be able to plug in the battery prior to going to the field. Art
Old 09-17-2007, 10:21 AM
  #2  
Dsegal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,065
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Switch in the Battery leads of my ESC

If you are using Lipo batteries it is not a good idea to transport the model with the batteries inside it. You should carry the Lipos in a fireproof container such as a metal box or a Lipo-Sack.
Old 09-17-2007, 12:59 PM
  #3  
jdetray
Senior Member
 
jdetray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napoleon, OH
Posts: 1,617
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Switch in the Battery leads of my ESC

Art -

I agree with Dave. I do not think it's a good idea to transport lipos inside a plane.

If you still want a switch, remember that it must be heavy enough to carry the full current of your power system. A better idea is to make an externally mounted jumper from a Deans Ultra or other heavy-duty connector. Plug in the jumper to complete the circuit.

But please reconsider transporting your plane with the lipo already in it.

- Jeff
Old 09-20-2007, 09:11 AM
  #4  
Hatty
Senior Member
 
Hatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 360
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Switch in the Battery leads of my ESC

You will have to have a pretty beefy switch to be able to handle the current that the lipo will be dishing out. Those kinds of switches aren't light, nor small. And even if you did get the correct switch, you will have added resistance that will end up wasting energy. And if you're like me, a 10 second shorter flight time is unacceptable. It would be a much better idea overall to just plug them in at the field.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.