Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

How to center servos w/o power

Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

How to center servos w/o power

Old 03-06-2008, 02:17 PM
  #1  
bgarber
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to center servos w/o power

I'm building my first ARF and I'm getting to the point where I need to install the servos and control rods. Now, in the instructions it says to center the servos. I have a battery, ESC, and receiver but I don't have a charger yet. I'd like to finish building the plane but since I don't have a charger, I don't want to plug in the LiPo battery before first charge.

Can you adjust the servo horns without powering them up? Do you just unscrew the horn, move it to the center, then screw it back down again?

Thanks
Old 03-06-2008, 02:41 PM
  #2  
dignlivn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to center servos w/o power



You need to Cenrer the Trims on the Tx then power
up the Rx so the Servos will will Center. Then turn off
the Rx then the Tx. Now you can Unscrew the servo
Arm screw and Center it or adjust it to 90 degrees.
Then re tighten the screw.
For the record, you Assemble an Arf and Build a Kit.
Hope this helps.

Bob
Old 03-06-2008, 04:54 PM
  #3  
cyclops2
 
cyclops2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Frenchtown, NJ
Posts: 3,054
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: How to center servos w/o power


For the record.

All my planes are built and maintained by me.

Rich
Old 03-06-2008, 05:00 PM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,917
Received 339 Likes on 271 Posts
Default RE: How to center servos w/o power

Different recievers will center the servos differently, you need to power them up to make sure they are centered.
Old 03-06-2008, 08:40 PM
  #5  
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 7,350
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to center servos w/o power

It's often handy to have a 4-cell receiver pack available to power the receiver for setup.

In cases where you can easily access the servo arm, simply center the arm by eye and set up the pushrods. When you finally get to powering up the system for the first time, you can remove the servo arms and re-center them. If they don't quite center up at that point, use the SUB-trim setting of your radio to fine-tune them back to center.
Old 03-08-2008, 03:25 PM
  #6  
Flypaper 2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: How to center servos w/o power

I turn the servo arm to the stop at one end, then run the servo to the other end and split the difference where the centre is. this will put you in the ballpark. Then centre them when you get the batt charged as Matt says, for finer adjustment.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.