Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

PC power supply?

Old 10-10-2009, 12:38 PM
  #1  
green river rc
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
green river rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Raywick, KY
Posts: 1,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PC power supply?

Quick question:

Can a 12 volt PC power supply be converted for RC use?
Old 10-10-2009, 01:36 PM
  #2  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

sure, many of them will put out enough for average charge needs.

Old 10-10-2009, 01:50 PM
  #3  
davidbegg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dunedin, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

Yes you can, althoughsome minor modifications are necessary to the PC power supply to 'lock it on'.

Caution: If you are not confident in attempting this conversion don't try, capacitors inthepower supply can be 'nasty'.



http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...owersupply.htm

http://www.tarmac.org.au/12%20Volt%20Power%20Pack.pdf

http://customers.swcp.com/~tandberg/...pplyATX_03.htm

http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Com...b-Power-Supply

Further information and instructions are avaiable via Google or the dedictaed web site search engines.

The ATX power supply I convert a couple of years ago works great with my battery charger,I use it all the time.



Old 10-12-2009, 09:01 PM
  #4  
cyclops2
 
cyclops2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Frenchtown, NJ
Posts: 3,054
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?



MAYBE !!!!!!!!!!!

If you you know someone who is very good in electronics. Guess wrong and you may have a fire.

Rich
Old 10-12-2009, 10:31 PM
  #5  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

I have made about 6 of them for me and my buddies. It works fine.
Old 10-13-2009, 12:46 AM
  #6  
con244
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

I use a old Compaq laptop power supply to run my charger no modifications necessary at all
Con
Old 10-13-2009, 03:16 AM
  #7  
davidbegg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dunedin, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

Some older computer power supplies will run with out modification, this is good just use the 12 volt feed, however most newer computer power supplies need minor modifications to 'lock them on' as these power supply need to detect a load to operate. That is all that is being done with the modifications outline on the internet, adding a suitble load so they will operate.

While modifications done incorrectlymay lead to a cooked computer power supply and or battery charger, it is unlikely there would be a fire.

A check of what you have done BEFORE turning on the power supply, and checking the output voltage BEFORE connecting the battery charger will remove those problems. And of course positive to positive negative to negative connections as always, again check polarity with a suitable meter BEFORE connecting for the first time especially as there are a number of different coloured wires used in a computer power supply.

It is not a difficult modification and it works well.

Cheers

David
Old 10-13-2009, 03:57 AM
  #8  
twoslick2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 247
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

What about a car battery charger? Won't that work?
Old 10-13-2009, 06:18 AM
  #9  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?


ORIGINAL: twoslick2

What about a car battery charger? Won't that work?
Generaly, a big fat NO. There is insufficient filtering on most car battery chargers.
As to fires when you modify the computer power supplies, very little chance of a problem. There are a number of sites on the web giving you step by step instructions on how to make the modifications, just google for them. Most will make nice power supply s for your charger.
Old 10-13-2009, 12:40 PM
  #10  
davidbegg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dunedin, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

Rodney is absolutely correct, computer power supplies are a cheap and readily available sourceof a filtered power supply. Car battery charger NO!!!, the output is to variable as a power source to operatethe sophisticated battery chargers usedfor model battery charging.

Cheers

David
Old 10-15-2009, 03:51 PM
  #11  
jdetray
Senior Member
 
jdetray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napoleon, OH
Posts: 1,617
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

More links ...

Here are a few discussion forum threads on the topic of converting PC power supplies for use as 12V bench supplies for chargers and other equipment:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=368639
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=315179
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...threadid=55555
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...hreadid=114054
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...threadid=41161


In addition, here are some helpful web sites on the same topic:
http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...owersupply.htm
http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...SIGN_GUIDE.HTM
http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm
http://www.dream-models.com/eco/DIY-powerSupply.html
http://www.extensiontech.net/articles/howto/jb/pstu/
http://reckerclub.tripod.com/id105.html
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/fast.electrics/PSU.pdf
http://www.nfdc.net/home/cbdb/Teardr...r%20Supply.htm

- Jeff
Old 10-17-2009, 08:35 PM
  #12  
enjoymentboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: erin, ON, CANADA
Posts: 300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

yep. they work great for this. basically all you need to do is to bridge the 5v rail with a load to simulate the load that a pc will have on first startup. I've got an excellent word doc that outlines the whole thing. I'd be happy to send it your way if you want it.

Richard
Old 10-17-2009, 10:11 PM
  #13  
green river rc
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
green river rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Raywick, KY
Posts: 1,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

Sure, I would like to see it.
Old 10-19-2009, 07:01 PM
  #14  
Sasquatchin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PC power supply?

is it something you could attach here (your document), Iam very interested in this as well

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.