Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Tx and Rx compatability for a newbie

Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Tx and Rx compatability for a newbie

Old 03-05-2010, 10:29 AM
echolmberg

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tx and Rx compatability for a newbie

Hi guys!

I'm going to ask a question here that I'm sure is a no brainer for you guys but, for me, I'm just getting into this and I need your help! So here 'goes....

I have a Hitec Neon 3 channel transmitter and I need to get a new receiver for my Alfa Model F4U-1 Corsair. Can I use the Hitec 555 receiver? Will everything be okay in terms of compatability so long as I the Tx and Rx crystals match? I guess it's kind of an overall general question. Will any brand of receiver work with any brand of transmitter as long as the crystals match?

Thank you!!

Eric
Old 03-05-2010, 10:26 PM
TedMo

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Tx and Rx compatability for a newbie

The answer is no for differing tx/rx brands. Since you have Hitec and are considering a Hitec Rx they will probably work. I have no knowledge about that Tx you mention but will offer this advice. Don't waste your money on anything for a 3 ch tx. Anything less then 6 ch's are a waste in my book. That's your decision but with present day 2.4 radios the older sets are selling very cheap on E-Bay.Keep in mind you radio is the most important equipment you will buy so don't skimp there.
Old 03-05-2010, 10:30 PM
dirdredd
My Feedback: (6)

i need to know if someone knows where or how can i purchase a CD for my Exceed 6Ch Digital Transmitter
Old 03-06-2010, 05:51 PM
cyclops2

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Not sure.

I would go to www.bphobbies.com & send them the same question. they sell Hitec. Some Hitecs use full sized crystals ,others use a mini crystal.