Notices
Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight Talk about this fast growing niche in rc. Micro radios, micro electric or co2 powered planes, heli's both indoors and out.

Actuator controller

Old 08-26-2003, 01:27 AM
  #1  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Actuator controller

What do I need to actuate my magnetic actuators???
Old 08-26-2003, 04:08 AM
  #2  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Actuator controller

SOrry for the genericness of my post Had an appointment to meet but I thought someone might understand me.

Anyhow. Since a magnetic actuator has 2 connectors (on on each end of the coil), and a reciever has 3 (-, +, signal), how do I hook the two together?
Old 08-26-2003, 05:39 AM
  #3  
Mike Taylor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Mike Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 464
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Actuator controller

Bob Selman designs sell a chip to allow you to hook up actuators to a standard receiver ( http://users.joplin.com/~bselman/dpc.htm).

You can build your own using the circuit board from a micro sized servo, a trim pot, and some patience. I believe that RCMicroFlight had an article by Matt Keenon on building this sort of device from the guts of a servo decoder recently (but I didn't find it), but there was a John Worth article in 2000 that outlined the theory (http://www.rcmicroflight.com/may00/servo.asp).
Hope that helps...
Old 08-27-2003, 03:38 AM
  #4  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Actuator controller

Thanks man. I like the idea of using a servo circuit board. I've got some HiTec HS-81 servos laying around and they have a tiny circuit board on them!
Old 08-27-2003, 03:41 AM
  #5  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Actuator controller

Hmm, it seems Bob Selman's page is no longer in service...
Old 08-27-2003, 09:44 AM
  #6  
Mike Taylor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Mike Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 464
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Actuator controller

Just went to http://users.joplin.com/~bselman/ and it seemed to be there...
Old 08-27-2003, 11:41 PM
  #7  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Actuator controller

Odd , gave me a 404 error last night.. And I tried about 5 times.

Oh well, it's working now. Thanks, Mike.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.